Butternut Squash-Sweet Potato Ginger Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have made this a few times now, and it's by far my favorite soup. I followed the recipe exactly, except that one day I also added some curry spiced chicken sausage that I got at the local farmers markets, and it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I followed the advice of other reviewers and fried my onion and garlic in a bit of butter in the pot before adding the veggies and broth. I roasted my squash in the oven at 400 degrees until slightly soft...it made peeling and cubing much easier. I added 1/4 cup homemade unsweetened applesauce and lots of extra fresh ginger. I served the soup with a dollop of plain yogurt in the centre of each bowl. Perfect winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Excellent! I sauteed the celery, carrots, onion, garlic and ginger first. After cooking, I mashed the mixture with a potato masher before using my immersion blender. It was so creamy, I did not use the yogurt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Love it. Easy to make. Used pickled ginger leftover from sushi, instead of fresh. Added curry powder & red pepper flakes for a bit more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is one of my ultimate favorite soups in the Fall. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This soup is delicious. I used vegetable stock instead of water, and I did not add yogurt as suggested in the recipe (just pureed the veges once cooked). It was fantastic. My husband also loved it and he doesn't even like sweet potatoes. I highly recommend this one,very easy to make and very tasty in the chilly weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious!!! First, I sauteed a peeled, chopped Fuji apple and 1 stalk chopped green onion in 1 TB butter for 10 minutes. Then, I added a 1.4 lb butternut squash and 1/2 a chopped large sweet potato, an inch of chopped, peeled ginger, and 1 and 1/2 cloves chopped garlic and filled the pot up mostly with water to cover the vegetables (maybe about a 1/2 inch higher than the veggies), and about 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock. I let this simmer for 30 minutes, and then added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (as per other reviewers' suggestions) and a pinch of nutmeg. Then, I pureed it in the blender. It was so creamy and delicious (and sweet from the Fuji apple) that I didn't need to add cream or yogurt. I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe rather closely, except I omitted the yogurt for a vegan friend. I also added some ground cloves (about 1/2 tbsp) - delicious! When I make this next time, I'd love to try it with the apple and some stock. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace MacNeil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This made MASSIVE amounts of soup. We froze it in single servings and are still enjoying it. For more flavor use 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water for extra flavor. I also added an extra zip with a lot of fresh ground pepper and went heavy on the ginger using a 4 inch piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Delicious! Great flavor combinations and i really like how healthy this soup is. Great for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States