Butternut Squash-Sweet Potato Ginger Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious!!! First, I sauteed a peeled, chopped Fuji apple and 1 stalk chopped green onion in 1 TB butter for 10 minutes. Then, I added a 1.4 lb butternut squash and 1/2 a chopped large sweet potato, an inch of chopped, peeled ginger, and 1 and 1/2 cloves chopped garlic and filled the pot up mostly with water to cover the vegetables (maybe about a 1/2 inch higher than the veggies), and about 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock. I let this simmer for 30 minutes, and then added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (as per other reviewers' suggestions) and a pinch of nutmeg. Then, I pureed it in the blender. It was so creamy and delicious (and sweet from the Fuji apple) that I didn't need to add cream or yogurt. I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I followed the advice of other reviewers and fried my onion and garlic in a bit of butter in the pot before adding the veggies and broth. I roasted my squash in the oven at 400 degrees until slightly soft...it made peeling and cubing much easier. I added 1/4 cup homemade unsweetened applesauce and lots of extra fresh ginger. I served the soup with a dollop of plain yogurt in the centre of each bowl. Perfect winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Love it. Easy to make. Used pickled ginger leftover from sushi, instead of fresh. Added curry powder & red pepper flakes for a bit more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is one of my ultimate favorite soups in the Fall. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This soup is delicious. I used vegetable stock instead of water, and I did not add yogurt as suggested in the recipe (just pureed the veges once cooked). It was fantastic. My husband also loved it and he doesn't even like sweet potatoes. I highly recommend this one,very easy to make and very tasty in the chilly weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have made this a few times now, and it's by far my favorite soup. I followed the recipe exactly, except that one day I also added some curry spiced chicken sausage that I got at the local farmers markets, and it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Excellent! I sauteed the celery, carrots, onion, garlic and ginger first. After cooking, I mashed the mixture with a potato masher before using my immersion blender. It was so creamy, I did not use the yogurt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe rather closely, except I omitted the yogurt for a vegan friend. I also added some ground cloves (about 1/2 tbsp) - delicious! When I make this next time, I'd love to try it with the apple and some stock. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace MacNeil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This made MASSIVE amounts of soup. We froze it in single servings and are still enjoying it. For more flavor use 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water for extra flavor. I also added an extra zip with a lot of fresh ground pepper and went heavy on the ginger using a 4 inch piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Delicious! Great flavor combinations and i really like how healthy this soup is. Great for a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States