Butternut Squash-Sweet Potato Ginger Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious!!! First, I sauteed a peeled, chopped Fuji apple and 1 stalk chopped green onion in 1 TB butter for 10 minutes. Then, I added a 1.4 lb butternut squash and 1/2 a chopped large sweet potato, an inch of chopped, peeled ginger, and 1 and 1/2 cloves chopped garlic and filled the pot up mostly with water to cover the vegetables (maybe about a 1/2 inch higher than the veggies), and about 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock. I let this simmer for 30 minutes, and then added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (as per other reviewers' suggestions) and a pinch of nutmeg. Then, I pureed it in the blender. It was so creamy and delicious (and sweet from the Fuji apple) that I didn't need to add cream or yogurt. I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Having the benefit of all those who wrote before me, I made a few tweaks. The end result was DELICIOUS! 1. Chop: 1 peeled and cored apple (I used Granny Smith because it's all I had); 2 celery stalks; 2 peeled carrots; 1/2 medium onion; 3 inches of peeled ginger. Saute all of the above with 1 heaping Tablespoon minced garlic in 2 T butter (or oil) for about 10 minutes, or until soft. Set aside. 2. Put chunked sweet potatoes (or yams) and butternut squash in a large pan with about 2 1/4 c water and 2 1/4 c. chicken broth. (I used 2 cans of the chicken broth, and a little more than that of water--whatever it takes to cover the tops of the vegetables.) 3. Once everything comes to a boil, add the sauteed mixture from before and let simmer until everything is pretty soft. 4. I added 1 t. of cinnamon and about 1/2 t. of nutmeg, 1 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1 t. of pepper BEFORE blending/pureeing it. It saved me a step, and it came out great. It doesn't really need yogurt, in my opinion, but I added a dollop of light sour cream before serving, making it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I agree with the other reviews, this is real good but something was missing. I was trying to do a vegan thing so I left out the yogurt and added curry. It was great! I also added a touch on cinnamon but don’t think it is necessary after the curry. I also froze single servings and they heated up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I followed the advice of other reviewers and fried my onion and garlic in a bit of butter in the pot before adding the veggies and broth. I roasted my squash in the oven at 400 degrees until slightly soft...it made peeling and cubing much easier. I added 1/4 cup homemade unsweetened applesauce and lots of extra fresh ginger. I served the soup with a dollop of plain yogurt in the centre of each bowl. Perfect winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This soup is delicious. I used vegetable stock instead of water, and I did not add yogurt as suggested in the recipe (just pureed the veges once cooked). It was fantastic. My husband also loved it and he doesn't even like sweet potatoes. I highly recommend this one,very easy to make and very tasty in the chilly weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Love it. Easy to make. Used pickled ginger leftover from sushi, instead of fresh. Added curry powder & red pepper flakes for a bit more intense flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made a number of modifications, but this was very good. I had searched for a sweet potato bisque recipe and found this one. I did not have any butternut squash, so I just used 5 sweet potatoes. (In retrospect, the flavor would have been far too mild if I had followed the recipe and used squash plus 4 sweet potatoes.) Based on suggestions of other reviewers, I sautéed the onion, garlic, and ginger first, added a diced apple and some diced celery, and used vegetable broth in addition to water. Instead of adding yogurt, I blended in some silken tofu. The resulting soup was pretty good, but following the recommendation of at least one reviewer, I then tried adding some curry -- that really enhanced the flavor. My husband is a picky soup eater and, although he wasn't thrilled with this before I added the curry, he complimented it TWICE after he ate it with the curry. Next time I make this recipe, I will use more fresh garlic and ginger (especially ginger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this. But I like spicy hot soup so I added a seeded and diced jalapeno to the puree. I would also recommend using chicken broth as some others suggested. Might also try cayenne pepper if you like spicy soup too. A Winter Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
ok, could taste the yogurt too much, not the squash or sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have made this a few times now, and it's by far my favorite soup. I followed the recipe exactly, except that one day I also added some curry spiced chicken sausage that I got at the local farmers markets, and it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States