Butternut Squash-Sweet Potato Ginger Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and i thought it was horrible. I may just not be a fan of the dish, but my fiance hated it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This soup is delicious. I used vegetable stock instead of water, and I did not add yogurt as suggested in the recipe (just pureed the veges once cooked). It was fantastic. My husband also loved it and he doesn't even like sweet potatoes. I highly recommend this one,very easy to make and very tasty in the chilly weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
tast, but a little too thick. I think thinning it with some chicken broth might taste nice--will try that next time. 11/2007
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I agree with the other reviews, this is real good but something was missing. I was trying to do a vegan thing so I left out the yogurt and added curry. It was great! I also added a touch on cinnamon but don’t think it is necessary after the curry. I also froze single servings and they heated up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious!!! First, I sauteed a peeled, chopped Fuji apple and 1 stalk chopped green onion in 1 TB butter for 10 minutes. Then, I added a 1.4 lb butternut squash and 1/2 a chopped large sweet potato, an inch of chopped, peeled ginger, and 1 and 1/2 cloves chopped garlic and filled the pot up mostly with water to cover the vegetables (maybe about a 1/2 inch higher than the veggies), and about 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock. I let this simmer for 30 minutes, and then added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (as per other reviewers' suggestions) and a pinch of nutmeg. Then, I pureed it in the blender. It was so creamy and delicious (and sweet from the Fuji apple) that I didn't need to add cream or yogurt. I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Not as good as I hoped. There is definately something missing spice wise. I added pepper and salt and also curry. The curry helped but still something isn't right. I used water instead of broth and in my opinion using broth would make it a lot more flavorful. I used two yams instead of 4 sweet potatoes. Not sure what the difference is between the two flavor-wise but the soup tasted way too much like the yam and not enough the squash. I doubt I will make this soup again. I have a wonderful recipe for squash soup and will keep on making that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Canuckgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Delicious, thick and silky smooth soup. I used chicken broth instead of water, added one celery stalk, omitted the yogurt, and garnished with fresh cilantro. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe was 'ok' but definitely not worth the time it takes to make it. It was lacking in spice so I added some cinnamon. My boss added some brown sugar to his bowl and it was much more palatable (kind of like sweet potato pie soup!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good, but not excellent, very mild flavor. This is the first bisque I've ever made so it might have been me, I agree to try with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe rather closely, except I omitted the yogurt for a vegan friend. I also added some ground cloves (about 1/2 tbsp) - delicious! When I make this next time, I'd love to try it with the apple and some stock. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace MacNeil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States