Butternut Squash-Sweet Potato Ginger Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I changed the recipe a bit, by baking the squash in a 400C oven for 50 minutes. I also add a pinch of nutmeg for a bit more flavour. Great texture..nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is the version I made: 1. Chop: 1 peeled and cored apple 2celery stalks; 2 peeled carrots; 1 medium onion; 1-2 inches of peeled ginger. 2. Sauté all of the above with 1 heaping Tablespoon minced garlic in 2 T oil for about 10 minutes, or until soft. Set aside. 3. Put chunked sweet potatoes (or yams) and butternut squash in a large pan with about 2 1/4 c water and 2 1/4 c. chicken broth. 4. Once everything comes to a boil, add the sautéed mixture from before and let simmer until everything is pretty soft. 5. Add 1 t. of cinnamon and about 1/2 t. of nutmeg (or curry/cardamom), 1 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 t. of pepper BEFORE blending/pureeing it. 6. Serve with a dollop of light sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Excellent! I sauteed the celery, carrots, onion, garlic and ginger first. After cooking, I mashed the mixture with a potato masher before using my immersion blender. It was so creamy, I did not use the yogurt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is one of my ultimate favorite soups in the Fall. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Vastly improved simply by roasting the squash, sweet potatoes and onions (along with a few garlic cloves) in the oven until soft. Then puree with chicken stock (not water)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Did exactly what recipie said. Took a lot of time to prep and the end result was bland baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this. But I like spicy hot soup so I added a seeded and diced jalapeno to the puree. I would also recommend using chicken broth as some others suggested. Might also try cayenne pepper if you like spicy soup too. A Winter Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Too much Ginger. I would try this again but less Ginger and I added brown sugar which improved it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This soup was extremely thin and watery. Also, when I whisked in the yogurt, it just coagulated. The flavor wasn't bad but the consistency was unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
ok, could taste the yogurt too much, not the squash or sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States