Butternut Squash-Sweet Potato Ginger Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
I made it vegan, and it was still creamy and delicious. I added some canned pumpkin because I didn't have enough sweet potatoes, and the taste was quality, not overwhelmingly pumpkin-y. I also started adding some pumpkin pie spices, mostly nutmeg and cardamom, which gave it a distinctive kick with the addition of lots of crushed red pepper. A potluck winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was a delicious soup! I looked at other similar soups and reviews and altered it slightly. On top of the recipe I added 2 carrots, 2 stalks of celery, and a 1/4 green pepper. I also used chicken stock instead of water, and added milk and a bit of cream at the end instead of sour cream. This turned out fantastic and was hearty and delicious! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great recipe! I followed the advice of other reviewers and fried my onion and garlic in a bit of butter in the pot before adding the veggies and broth. I roasted my squash in the oven at 400 degrees until slightly soft...it made peeling and cubing much easier. I added 1/4 cup homemade unsweetened applesauce and lots of extra fresh ginger. I served the soup with a dollop of plain yogurt in the centre of each bowl. Perfect winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This made MASSIVE amounts of soup. We froze it in single servings and are still enjoying it. For more flavor use 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water for extra flavor. I also added an extra zip with a lot of fresh ground pepper and went heavy on the ginger using a 4 inch piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe rather closely, except I omitted the yogurt for a vegan friend. I also added some ground cloves (about 1/2 tbsp) - delicious! When I make this next time, I'd love to try it with the apple and some stock. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace MacNeil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Good, but not excellent, very mild flavor. This is the first bisque I've ever made so it might have been me, I agree to try with chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This recipe was 'ok' but definitely not worth the time it takes to make it. It was lacking in spice so I added some cinnamon. My boss added some brown sugar to his bowl and it was much more palatable (kind of like sweet potato pie soup!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Canuckgirl
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Delicious, thick and silky smooth soup. I used chicken broth instead of water, added one celery stalk, omitted the yogurt, and garnished with fresh cilantro. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Not as good as I hoped. There is definately something missing spice wise. I added pepper and salt and also curry. The curry helped but still something isn't right. I used water instead of broth and in my opinion using broth would make it a lot more flavorful. I used two yams instead of 4 sweet potatoes. Not sure what the difference is between the two flavor-wise but the soup tasted way too much like the yam and not enough the squash. I doubt I will make this soup again. I have a wonderful recipe for squash soup and will keep on making that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Delicious!!! First, I sauteed a peeled, chopped Fuji apple and 1 stalk chopped green onion in 1 TB butter for 10 minutes. Then, I added a 1.4 lb butternut squash and 1/2 a chopped large sweet potato, an inch of chopped, peeled ginger, and 1 and 1/2 cloves chopped garlic and filled the pot up mostly with water to cover the vegetables (maybe about a 1/2 inch higher than the veggies), and about 1/4 cup of organic chicken stock. I let this simmer for 30 minutes, and then added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon (as per other reviewers' suggestions) and a pinch of nutmeg. Then, I pureed it in the blender. It was so creamy and delicious (and sweet from the Fuji apple) that I didn't need to add cream or yogurt. I seasoned it with salt and pepper. Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montague, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States