Butternut Squash Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
My husband and I both enjoyed this meal. I made my spinach separate & I also brought home some prosciutto to serve with it like a pumpkin ravioli dish I ate a few years back in a restaurant. I roasted my squash to keep the flavor and nutrients, plus who doesn't love that aroma filling the house? I also used cottage cheese, both because I had it and we don't care for goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xmasgirl65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
The sauce was very rich and the shell stuffed with butternut squash was a bit plain. Good but maybe better seperate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiverOfDance

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made this with the commonly suggested modifications of a sweet yellow onion and adding goat cheese to the filling. I used a goat cheese with honey which was great. I also added some baby shrimp to the sauce. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was enjoyed by multi generations-I did change it up better to suit my taste and to decrease the fat content. I used skim milk instead of cream and used a whole goat cheese package(113g) instead. I also took the advice of another reviewer and sprinkled with parmesan before putting the cream/onion sauce over everything and then baking for 15 minutes or so.I also roasted the butternut squash(brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with about a Tbsp brown sugar.In the squash mash I used 5%light cream only.Pepper added to the squash mash too.Didn't use a food processor,just mashed everything in a bowl. My 20 yr old loved it as did my parents.A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars, but did a lot of customizing. Reading the previous reviews was helpful. I used a yellow onion instead of a red, put goat cheese in both the filling and the sauce, sauteed the spinach separately rather than put it in the baking dish, and put garlic in the sauce as well as the filling. Season with sea salt, and you have a fabulous meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srhockeygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This needed more salt and a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese, but really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe is horrible. The recipe was easy enough to follow and it looked nice when completed, but it tasted just awful. If you need to find something to do with your butternut squash, stick with butternut squash soup or risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I forgot to put in the salt, and had to add it afterwards. That made this dish very good. It needed more onions, and I think they should have been chopped so they were in the mixture more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was pretty good. I did make some changes though. I put the goat cheese in the filling and used parmesan for the sauce, I also chopped up the spinach and mixed it in with the filling. Next time I make this I'll probably make a lower fat version by not using as much butter, and using something other than cream, probably low fat or skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States