Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is absolutely delicious!!! Used one container of spreadable cream cheese, and nutmeg instead of coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelburne, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe, Mary! My family loved it. We've never had squash soup before now... This is going in the recipe hall of fame- one of my favorite soups ever! I only used one package of cream cheese and it was great- garnished with a sprinkle of crispy bacon pieces and a little dollop of sour cream.... Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Hard to please everyone at the table right? Wrong! Easy to make and easy to please. Thrilled to have found this. I agree, baking the squash first is a great hint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made with 7 cups squash and 4 cups of homemade chicken broth- came out wonderful! Very easy- My husband said, "I'm digging this soup- kept going back for seconds! I like a garnish on a smooth soup- any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
It tastes awesome but definitely not a soup. It's more of a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Margarita Jarquin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Wow! This is really good. Like others, I used one package of cream cheese and a little more cayenne pepper. I didn't have majoram on hand, but basil works wonderfully in this. I also had no chicken bouillon cubes so I used vegetable stock. This is easy to make and is now on my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Delicious! As others, I roasted the squash and pulled the skin off. Took about an hour for mine to get really soft. I used less water/bouillon initially as I knew I could always thin it out. I had no marjoram, so used 1/2 the amount called for of oregano but I don't believe it added any distinguishable flavor. I used half sodium-free and half regular bouillon cubes. Finally, I followed the advice to use half the amount of cream cheese and thought that was sufficient. It was pretty thick, so I ladled some into a container to freeze before thinning the whole batch. I then thinned with additional water/bouillon mixture and added cayenne to taste. I thought this was fantastic as it was, but we were at an event a few weeks ago where there were butternut squash soup shooters with a candied bacon piece. THAT was divine! Would be wonderful for entertaining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I always use this as a base recipe, turns out fantastic every time! In addition to kick it up a little, I add: 1/2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp nutmeg 1/2 tsp ginger 1/4 tsp all spice 1/4 c maple syrup Then I substitute a large apple for the onion. Only because I don't like onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I've made this recipe several times, usually following the review of SLJ6. This time I added 1/2 tsp ginger and 1 tsp cinnamon. My fav recipe for butternut squash soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I love the soup! I am down to making it without measuring anything. Blend everything then add the cream cheese on high for about 30 mins. I personally believe that it is better slow cooked. I have also make it with an apple cinnamon version. I boil 1 apple and a cinnamon stick with the broth from the soup for about 30 mins, blend and then add. Gives it a totally different experience! Sometimes I add cooked ground sausage and peppers in the middle to again add a different taste and it actually goes well with the soup! Women tend to love this soup, men not as much :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,995) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States