Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Excellent, but only 4 stars since I made some changes: used chix broth instead of water and bullion, one package of cream cheese instead of 2, butter instead of margarine and then added some nutmeg, oregano and some cinnamon and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Baked squash in 350 oven 45 minutes prior to adding to onion and soup mixture. Did use more cayenne and real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
We are a family of 4 who have had no choice but to cut back on our food budget. I have added soup night to the rotation along with a salad and bread to stretch things. this soup was AWFUL - totally inedible in my opinion. All I tasted was hot cream cheese. I had no choice but to play with it b/c there was nothing else to feed my family for dinner. I added another cup of squash and of all things sugar to get rid of that awful hot cream cheese aftertaste. I refrigerated it (as I made it at lunchtime) and by dinner it was at least edible. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I baked the squash at 350 for about an hour, scooped it out of the skin into a bowl added the cream cheese and whipped with a beater until it was smooth. then I boiled 4 cups of water with 6 table spoons of margarine added the bouillon. added the rest to the pot and let simmer..then like another viewer suggested..added apple cider!!! yummy!! to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Honestly I think this produces a better soup, with less hassle, than roasting the squash first. Shocking I know. But it works well for me. I use real butter and 1/8th of the cream cheese called for. Honestly I would not add more than 4 oz of it and it is still velvety smooth. A go-to for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This is my first time making this soup. I was hesitant to try it because my daughter hates squash of any kind. It's almost finished warming up and she tasted it saying it was 'delicious!' Thanks for a great and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I have to say - did SLJ6 ever make the recipe according to the printed recipe or is he/she just using this page to SHOW OFF? Post your own recipe and let people rate your recipe. Honestly, not sure how you can even fit your ego-swollen head into your kitchen. THIS RECIPE by Mary is fabulous! Thanks for sharing it with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe to the T and all I could taste was the cream cheese. I prefer to taste the butternut squash in my soup. If I make this soup again I would definitely cut down on the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe. After reading many of the reviews, I made a few changes too. 3 Acorn Squash, that I cut in half and baked in the oven for 40 minutes at 375; chopped three shallots and four carrots and sautéed both in a stick of butter, Once soft, I transferred to by Slow Cooker/Pressure cooker; added 4 cups of chicken base, 1 tbsp. of ground ginger, 2 tbsp. of brown sugar, salt and pepper. Took the squash from the oven and scooped all into the slow cooker. Cooked slow for 2 1/2 hours and them blended all in the cooker, finally added 8 oz of whipped cream cheese, blended that in and covered slow cooker for another 1 1/2 hours. Husband loved it, so I dared to bring a pint to my Mother...Received two thumbs up from her. Thanks to all for weighing in on the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
That is delicious. Simple flavors that blended well together. And much easier to make than I thought it would be. I did add a bit more squash and only used one 8 oz. package of cream cheese. And as a warning- it makes rather more than I suspected it would. More than my husband and I could put down in 2 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,874) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States