Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe. After reading many of the reviews, I made a few changes too. 3 Acorn Squash, that I cut in half and baked in the oven for 40 minutes at 375; chopped three shallots and four carrots and sautéed both in a stick of butter, Once soft, I transferred to by Slow Cooker/Pressure cooker; added 4 cups of chicken base, 1 tbsp. of ground ginger, 2 tbsp. of brown sugar, salt and pepper. Took the squash from the oven and scooped all into the slow cooker. Cooked slow for 2 1/2 hours and them blended all in the cooker, finally added 8 oz of whipped cream cheese, blended that in and covered slow cooker for another 1 1/2 hours. Husband loved it, so I dared to bring a pint to my Mother...Received two thumbs up from her. Thanks to all for weighing in on the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
That is delicious. Simple flavors that blended well together. And much easier to make than I thought it would be. I did add a bit more squash and only used one 8 oz. package of cream cheese. And as a warning- it makes rather more than I suspected it would. More than my husband and I could put down in 2 meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I just tried this for the first time and it was a success. I used organic chicken broth and only one package of cream cheese. Texture is great, has good flavor. I sprinkled bacon bits on top as a finisher. I'd like to try experimenting with different flavors and toppings, but overall it's quite good the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
My entire famiy loves this soup! I did change a few things, I had roasted buttercup and butter cream squashes. I used about 6 cups loosly packed of the squash.I added a half of red sweet pepper to the onions whie I was sauteing them.I used broth and added a sprinkling extra of the cayenne pepper. Instead of warming after processing I put it in a crock pot to hold while everyone gets together for dinner. a salad and crusty bread and it was a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Drummond Island, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This soup is SOOOOO good. I have been making it for years and am finally leaving a review. The only thing I would add that makes it so rick and yummy is that I roast the butternut squash....I cut it in half. drizzle my pan with olive oil and roast at 400ish until I can easily poke a fork into the butternut. I let it cool then just scoop out the squash into my pot. It adds a whole new dimension to the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I'm not a soup-person but gave this a try and everyone was pleasantly surprised. Great for the cool/cold fall months coming in fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Claire

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eva21482
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Just made this recipe - it was REALLY easy. I tweaked it slightly in that I had to use some items I had on hand. I used red onion, I used cajun seasoning instead of cayenne, I used butter instead of margarine. I only used 4 ounces of cream cheese (that seemed to be enough). To top it off I put a swirl of Agave nectar and Tapatio for a sweet and salty kick. Very good. Would probably add a little garlic and more salt and pepper next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great soup!! I roasted (one squash since I didn't measure) with salt, pepper, olive oil and a sprinkle of nutmeg for about an hour. I took out the seeds and cut it in about 8 pieces. Then there's no need to boil the squash once you add it to the onion since it's already cooked! There's absolutely no reason to add 2 packages of cream cheese. I only added half of one package and it's so creamy!!! I also added a pinch of all spice and nutmeg to the soup, and like another reviewer went a little heavier on the cayenne. This soup is one of my first and it's FANTASTIC! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Have made this recipe numerous times. It's a family favorite! Our daughter even requested it when she visited recently even though it was 90 degrees outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
My husband and I made this tonight to use up a butternut squash that came in our weekly box of organic veggies. We did make a few modifications to the recipe. We cut the squash in half, seasoned with salt and pepper, rubbed with a little olive oil and roasted it, cut side down, in a 375 degree oven for 45 minutes. Since there was no marjoram or cayenne pepper in the pantry, we subbed in a tiny bit of hot chilli powder for heat and flavor. Also, we cut down the bouillon to two cubes as ours is not sodium-free and it seemed that 4 cubes would make the soup too salty. It tasted beautifully rich as it was so we decided not to add any cream cheese, which cut down the fat. We did thin the soup with some 2% milk before serving as the texture was a little thick - everyone in the family loved it. Great recipe - will definitely make again, especially in the wintertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States