Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Just finished making this soup...deeelish! I followed as Mary says in her intro....I used more broth and less cream cheese....PERFECT! ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Perfect combo of sweet, savory, creamy, and spicy. This is the BEST fall soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I made this soup..minus half the cream cheese and 1/2 c. Less water. I used an immersion blender to cream everything together after the squash was cooked. It was absolutely amazing. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randym86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We made this recipe after visiting our local farmers market and acquiring a nice butternut squash. Delicious!! The only changes we made were reducing the cream cheese to one 8 ounce package, and using butter and chicken stock. Thank you to the reviewer who noted that a two pound squash was the same as six cups of peeled and cubed squash. Also, our thanks to Mary -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great fall soup! I only used one pack of cream cheese, and; it came out perfectly, still thick and very flavorful. I served with grilled basil and mozzarella sandwiches and it was a perfect Sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
great sweet soup. changed it up: roasted the squash with olive oil, salt & pepper. Then added only 3/4 of a package of cream cheese - was extremely rich so could likely cut to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious and super easy to make! Only a few modifications - I used an acorn squash instead of a butternut (it's what I had on hand), and roasted it in a 350 oven - cut side down - on a baking sheet for 45 minutes. I increased the cayenne pepper to 1/4 t. and added a dash of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I also followed others suggestions. I baked the squash first. Then I only used one 8 oz cream cheese. It was still very rich and creamy. I have a hard time with my blender so I used a hand emulsifier to make it creamy. Watch out for splashing. This soup was awesome eaten right after it's made. But as someone said, even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
My husband rushed in from work after being attacked by a tenant's dog, sitting for an hour in traffic and getting sideswiped by someone who took off before my husband could get his license plate number. The noise level in the house was unbelievable, as I had my neighbor's 4 kids over when she had an emergency. My panicked husband still had to head out for another 2 appointments, and needed to find new pants as the dog had shredded the ones he was wearing. Then I gave him this soup. He stopped moving when he tasted it. He sat down. He actually smiled. He had three bowls. I fed it to the kids and for fifteen minutes there were no sounds but spoons clanking and lots of slurping. This is going in my cookbook as 5-Minute Magic Opium Soup. It's that good. Oh, also, I used frozen cubed squash and only about 4 oz cream cheese, powder consomme instead of bouillon, and used an immersion blender. Tasted like magic and took about 5 minutes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I followed some advice and halved the squash, brushed with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic and baked at 400 for 30 minutes. Much easier to peel...We like things on the spicy side, so I doubled the cayenne pepper, added a dash of nutmeg, a tsp of brown sugar, 2 chopped potatoes, and a chopped apple; boiled for 20 minutes then added the squash and boiled for another 10 minutes. The cream cheese added a wonderful flavor. As in previous reviews, I only used one 8 oz brick of cream cheese. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,982) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States