Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This soup is delicious! Great as an appetizer, just place one med-large spinach ravioli in the center of bowl and top with soup for a wonderful color contrast or serve with a salad and some crusty bread for a filling dinner. Great winter dish to warm your bones! Also, the recipe should state 2 medium butternut squashes, peeled seeded and diced with just enough chicken stock to cover. This should help with the thickness. Since I have had a hard time finding the spinach pasta cheese ravioli, I have also tried the tri colored tortellini the texture is very good. For vegetarians who would like to make this soup, you can substitute a light vegetable stock for the chicken stock called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is an amazing recipe. It was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Absolutely delicious! This recipe is very unique and adds just the right hint of sweetness. I used large cheese raviolis instead of spinach. The recipe is inconsistent as to which ones the recipe calls for, but I can't imagine anything being better than the cheese raviolis in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A great addition to the menu!! Thanks Kate for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is definitely good enough to serve for company. Like Catherine said, we just use vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. If you're in a big hurry, you can use a couple packages of frozen pureed squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I halved this recipe and made it using canned squash and skipped the pureeing step at the end. I also added potatoes and mashed them when they turned soft. I made the soup first and then added chopped up raw shrimp which cooked in the steaming hot soup while the ravioli's boiled. Turned out delicious. Without the alterations, i expect this soup is just as good. The potato just thickened it up and gave it more substance and the shrimp was a delicious pairing. So was a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This soup was fabulous. My husband has a mental block about soups and doesn't really like them for a meal. He loved this, and I will definitely make it again. I tweaked it a little bit. I used 2 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of apple cider. The wine I used was a dry Baldwin apple wine. I used about 5 cups of butternut squash and still thought it could have been a little thicker. The flavors were wonderful. I added a bit of browned butter to the bowls right before serving. I'll definitely be making this again over the coming fall and winter months. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. The only difference I did was I cut the squash lengthwise and bakes it in the oven for 1 hour then I scooped it out and added it to the broth and onions to simmer for a little while. When it was purreed its was thick I did not have a thin soup like sime had said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was excellent. I made exactly as written. I agree with some previous posters - it was a tad on the thin side, but I think thickness is a preference thing. Next time I will take away a cup of broth and add a little more squash. A tip: Make sure you soften the onions really well. Mine didn't puree up very well. I was fine with it that way though. The flavor of this dish was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States