Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This soup is delicious! Great as an appetizer, just place one med-large spinach ravioli in the center of bowl and top with soup for a wonderful color contrast or serve with a salad and some crusty bread for a filling dinner. Great winter dish to warm your bones! Also, the recipe should state 2 medium butternut squashes, peeled seeded and diced with just enough chicken stock to cover. This should help with the thickness. Since I have had a hard time finding the spinach pasta cheese ravioli, I have also tried the tri colored tortellini the texture is very good. For vegetarians who would like to make this soup, you can substitute a light vegetable stock for the chicken stock called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is an amazing recipe. It was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Absolutely delicious! This recipe is very unique and adds just the right hint of sweetness. I used large cheese raviolis instead of spinach. The recipe is inconsistent as to which ones the recipe calls for, but I can't imagine anything being better than the cheese raviolis in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A great addition to the menu!! Thanks Kate for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This is definitely good enough to serve for company. Like Catherine said, we just use vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. If you're in a big hurry, you can use a couple packages of frozen pureed squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
The spice combination in this recipe is perfect. I prefer a bit thicker soup, so the second time I reduced the liquied by one cup. I also thought the cheese ravioli doesn't go well with the soup at all - maybe the spinach would work better, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
good soup- i decreased the stock by 1.5 cups, increased the squash to deepen the flavor, and then added chopped spinach at the end in lieu of the ravioli. i just did a drizzle of half and half and the dairy wasnt really missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This was pretty good, but I am not sure if I will make it again. I made the following changes: didn't have any leeks, so used 2 onions; used 4 cups of broth instead of 5; and used tricolor cheese tortellini instead of ravioli. It did turn out well, but I'm not sure if the flavor is really for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Great, filling soup. I added extra spice and a bit more squash. I also slashed the broth(made mine veggie) by about 1.5 cups. The spinach ravioli was a great addition. Can't wait to make it again- it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This soup was absolutely fantastic - the nutmeg and wine give it the most subtle and wonderful flavor - highly recommended! I would suggest adding MORE SQUASH though - I doubled the amount of squash because when I pureed it the first time I found it too thin. Doubling the amount of squash just makes the flavor deeper, but doesn't affect the other ingredient proportions. For those looking to lighten it even further, I replaced the light cream with rice milk (you could do soy milk also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States