Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was excellent. I made exactly as written. I agree with some previous posters - it was a tad on the thin side, but I think thickness is a preference thing. Next time I will take away a cup of broth and add a little more squash. A tip: Make sure you soften the onions really well. Mine didn't puree up very well. I was fine with it that way though. The flavor of this dish was spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
3 as written. I did a lot of tweaking. First of all I added a lot more squash and reduced the amount of broth. 2nd I really didn't think this had much flavor. I added a lot more spice and even brown sugar. I guess I am used to sweeter butter nut squash. I also omitted the cream. After all of this tweaking it was pretty good and very filling! I didn't like the spinach ravioli but I might try regular next time. Will def make again with my revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
The soup was good as stated but the ravioli didn't do much for me. I cooked this as a new addition for Christmas dinner and I think we will try it at Thanksgiving too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This soup came out great w/out changes to the original recipe. I didn't use the ravioli, just served the soup w/ some crusty bread. I like the combination of the wine w/ the spices, but I think next time I'll try vegetable stock instead of chicken, as I thought the chicken taste coming through was a little too much. I'd like to keep it w/ the veggies so that will be my only change! Great soup for the fall and works well as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was absolutely wonderful. The only difference I did was I cut the squash lengthwise and bakes it in the oven for 1 hour then I scooped it out and added it to the broth and onions to simmer for a little while. When it was purreed its was thick I did not have a thin soup like sime had said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This soup was fabulous. My husband has a mental block about soups and doesn't really like them for a meal. He loved this, and I will definitely make it again. I tweaked it a little bit. I used 2 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of apple cider. The wine I used was a dry Baldwin apple wine. I used about 5 cups of butternut squash and still thought it could have been a little thicker. The flavors were wonderful. I added a bit of browned butter to the bowls right before serving. I'll definitely be making this again over the coming fall and winter months. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
The recipe definitely needed some additives. I condensed this recipe to feed about 6 people. I added a chopped carrot, celery stick, one potato, and diced red pepper. I substituted the cream for skim milk and it came out delicious! With or without the ravioli is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
It was pretty good. I actually do not like onions and didn't realize that leeks were just another kind of onion. I wasn't able to puree the "broth" like I wanted to so that is something I would definitely change in the future. I cut cream to skim milk and 1/2 the butter. Flavor was great though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very elegant presentation, and nice flavor combination. I would serve this again for company. I might thicken the soup a little next time- a little higher squash to liquid ratio. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very good! I left out the leeks and added one fried tart apple... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States