Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very delicious, althought when we made this, we had to alter it quite a bit because we were short lots of ingredients. We didn't have any leeks so we just had onions. We didn't have white wine, so we used red wine instead. We also didn't have any chicken broth, so we used beef broth. We didn't have any ravioli, so instead we used three-cheese tortillini. Despite all of our changes, it turned out absolutely wonderful! It was a neat new way to have butternut squash soup and we will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was fantastic! The ravioli gave it a depth of flavor I wasn't expecting and made it much more asthetically pleasing. I used mushroom ravioli because I couldn't find spinach but it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fabulous recipe! It's a different take on butternut squash soup, and absolutely delicious! My VERY VERY picky kids loved it and my very skeptical husband quietly slurped down bowl after bowl. We literally fought over the leftovers! I accidentally only had heavy whipping cream on hand instead of light cream, and I'd have to admit that little "accident" was quite decadent! I'm sure it would be lovely with the light cream, too. I have another squash roasting in the oven right now to do it all over again! (I roasted the squash first, then cubed it, because I just don't like cutting uncooked squash.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Not bad! I found the soup to be a bit bland, but I liked the combination of squash with the ravioli. I'll make this again, but I'll definitely up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
for my first time making anything with butternut squash i was really pleased with how this turned out. i took the suggestion of a few previous reviewers and roasted the squash first (made it easier to peel since i had no idea how to do that) and added a granny smith apple that i had on hand. i think that the apple made the soup a bit sweeter than it would have been otherwise and it was a bit too sweet on it's own. but with the savory spinach and cheese filled ravioli that i had it all worked out very nicely. i'm looking forward to all of the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Used double the amount of squash to get the texture I prefer. Used a little more leek too. Used Fat free half and half instead of light cream, which worked okay just be very careful not to let it break by taking off heat right after adding. This soup was okay, I'm on the fence if I like it. The leftovers are much better than the soup is the same day. Next time I make butternut squash soup I'll try one with curry powder/seasonings, I suspect I'll prefer that to these spices; just my personal preference. The ravioli addition is fantastic, that works really well. I used spinach/cheese filled instead of spinach ravioli that is cheese filled. Thanks for a really interesting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Quite good! I lowered the liquids to make the squash and ravioli the centerpiece, and it ended up being closer to a stew than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was fantastic! I gave it 4 stars because- as other reviewers have previously stated- the consistency was a bit too thin. I would add at least 1 extra cup of cubed squash....next time I may try tossing in an apple and a carrot as well. I put whole wheat spinach and cheese tortellini in this as well as some sage flavored bulk sausage to make it a little heartier as a meal. A little extra spice may help if you are adding extra squash, but don't over-do it. The delicate flavor of the squash, wine, and leeks together is what makes this so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Really enjoyed this soup - added more squash than the original recipe and it was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Next time, I would definitely baked the squash first, and add more squash. But my family did like it, just the way it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States