Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Not bad! I found the soup to be a bit bland, but I liked the combination of squash with the ravioli. I'll make this again, but I'll definitely up the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
for my first time making anything with butternut squash i was really pleased with how this turned out. i took the suggestion of a few previous reviewers and roasted the squash first (made it easier to peel since i had no idea how to do that) and added a granny smith apple that i had on hand. i think that the apple made the soup a bit sweeter than it would have been otherwise and it was a bit too sweet on it's own. but with the savory spinach and cheese filled ravioli that i had it all worked out very nicely. i'm looking forward to all of the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Used double the amount of squash to get the texture I prefer. Used a little more leek too. Used Fat free half and half instead of light cream, which worked okay just be very careful not to let it break by taking off heat right after adding. This soup was okay, I'm on the fence if I like it. The leftovers are much better than the soup is the same day. Next time I make butternut squash soup I'll try one with curry powder/seasonings, I suspect I'll prefer that to these spices; just my personal preference. The ravioli addition is fantastic, that works really well. I used spinach/cheese filled instead of spinach ravioli that is cheese filled. Thanks for a really interesting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Quite good! I lowered the liquids to make the squash and ravioli the centerpiece, and it ended up being closer to a stew than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was fantastic! I gave it 4 stars because- as other reviewers have previously stated- the consistency was a bit too thin. I would add at least 1 extra cup of cubed squash....next time I may try tossing in an apple and a carrot as well. I put whole wheat spinach and cheese tortellini in this as well as some sage flavored bulk sausage to make it a little heartier as a meal. A little extra spice may help if you are adding extra squash, but don't over-do it. The delicate flavor of the squash, wine, and leeks together is what makes this so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Really enjoyed this soup - added more squash than the original recipe and it was great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Next time, I would definitely baked the squash first, and add more squash. But my family did like it, just the way it was
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
double the squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
ive never had butternut squash before but thought i would give this a try. im glad i did, this is really something else. it got great reviews from the whole family. next time i want to make a simple soup with great flavor ill use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~KC~formally YoungCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States