Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I thought it was wonderful...I did add extra squash like some of the suggestions..the rest of the recipe I kept the same. Very different flavor...would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Very good. Used tortellini by mistake, which was def not as good as ravioli. Used two packages of frozen squash, should have used three. Used 3 cups of chicken stock - which was good. Could use more cumin. Cut the water by 1.5 cups. Add something else flavor-wise. Dash of hot sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was my first time trying butternut squash so I don't know if I just don't like butternut squash or I didn't like the recipe. It was way too thick for me, I expected more of a tomato soup texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. I also doubled the amount of squash because that flavor wasn't very strong. I only had wild mushroom ravioli on hand, which was fine, but next time I'll use what the recipe called for. I will also probably double the amount of butter. Overall, it's a very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Too much work! My husband and I each ate a little bowl, and no one went back for seconds. I was left with a huge pot that no one really wanted. It could have been delicious, but I felt like it was missing something, and even after blending it in a blender the squash gave it a grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
5 cups broth, 3 cups squash for great consistency. up the spices, add a diced apple. use puree setting on blender, NOT a hand mixer, that was crazy, mixture splattered everywhere... the soup/sauce really is very delicious - multiple uses..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious. Didn't have cream or leeks on hand, so I added an extra onion for the leek and subbed plain yogurt stirred with organic lowfat milk for the cream. Also, I was missing one cup of chicken broth so I added 1/4 extra cup of white wine plus 1/4 cup of sherry. Seasoned with white and black pepper and high-end parmesan cheese at the table. It was delicious. Next time I will try to have heavy cream and leeks on hand -- I love their delicate flavor. But I will keep my touch of sherry and the white pepper. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Incredible. I had expected this soup to be good but the complexity of spinach cheese ravioli with the squash was well beyond what I had anticipated. My modifications were 1) I forgotten the cream 2) I used veggie broth instead of chicken 3) I used a few tablespoons of red wine vinegar and 4) I used no white wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was delicious! I nixed the leeks and ginger and substituted with a whole sliced apple, softened in a frying pan with water for about 10 min and a bit more cinnamon. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very interesting flavor palette, I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States