Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This soup is delicious! Great as an appetizer, just place one med-large spinach ravioli in the center of bowl and top with soup for a wonderful color contrast or serve with a salad and some crusty bread for a filling dinner. Great winter dish to warm your bones! Also, the recipe should state 2 medium butternut squashes, peeled seeded and diced with just enough chicken stock to cover. This should help with the thickness. Since I have had a hard time finding the spinach pasta cheese ravioli, I have also tried the tri colored tortellini the texture is very good. For vegetarians who would like to make this soup, you can substitute a light vegetable stock for the chicken stock called for in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Very good! I left out the leeks and added one fried tart apple... delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This soup was absolutely fantastic - the nutmeg and wine give it the most subtle and wonderful flavor - highly recommended! I would suggest adding MORE SQUASH though - I doubled the amount of squash because when I pureed it the first time I found it too thin. Doubling the amount of squash just makes the flavor deeper, but doesn't affect the other ingredient proportions. For those looking to lighten it even further, I replaced the light cream with rice milk (you could do soy milk also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I halved this recipe and made it using canned squash and skipped the pureeing step at the end. I also added potatoes and mashed them when they turned soft. I made the soup first and then added chopped up raw shrimp which cooked in the steaming hot soup while the ravioli's boiled. Turned out delicious. Without the alterations, i expect this soup is just as good. The potato just thickened it up and gave it more substance and the shrimp was a delicious pairing. So was a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Fabulous recipe! It's a different take on butternut squash soup, and absolutely delicious! My VERY VERY picky kids loved it and my very skeptical husband quietly slurped down bowl after bowl. We literally fought over the leftovers! I accidentally only had heavy whipping cream on hand instead of light cream, and I'd have to admit that little "accident" was quite decadent! I'm sure it would be lovely with the light cream, too. I have another squash roasting in the oven right now to do it all over again! (I roasted the squash first, then cubed it, because I just don't like cutting uncooked squash.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very elegant presentation, and nice flavor combination. I would serve this again for company. I might thicken the soup a little next time- a little higher squash to liquid ratio. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The leeks were a nice addition to the flavour of this soup, and the kids loved the ravioli in it! No one in my family likes butternut squash the way I do, but the kids devoured this soup! If making it for adults only, you may want to add something for more "kick"... not necessarily spice, but maybe some apple - cooked and pureed with the squash. If I ever make this for company, I will be sure to use Spinach Pasta Ravioli for the contrast of green colour with the bright orange of the soup base. Beautiful and impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Great, filling soup. I added extra spice and a bit more squash. I also slashed the broth(made mine veggie) by about 1.5 cups. The spinach ravioli was a great addition. Can't wait to make it again- it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is an amazing recipe. It was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Absolutely delicious! This recipe is very unique and adds just the right hint of sweetness. I used large cheese raviolis instead of spinach. The recipe is inconsistent as to which ones the recipe calls for, but I can't imagine anything being better than the cheese raviolis in this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States