Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I really liked this. Unfortunately my stepson refused to eat it. The rest of the family (two meat-n-potatoes men and one 12yr old girl) liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I modified the soup quite a bit by adding several granny smith apples (I also like to add parsnips, but didn't this time)and some apple cider I had on hand in place of some of the liquid. What I really liked was the ravioli with the soup. Some brown butter served on top with parsley is the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
eh. It was ok...not too flavorful, actually. Would need to tinker with the recipe to make this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
The leeks were a nice addition to the flavour of this soup, and the kids loved the ravioli in it! No one in my family likes butternut squash the way I do, but the kids devoured this soup! If making it for adults only, you may want to add something for more "kick"... not necessarily spice, but maybe some apple - cooked and pureed with the squash. If I ever make this for company, I will be sure to use Spinach Pasta Ravioli for the contrast of green colour with the bright orange of the soup base. Beautiful and impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was a really good soup and well received by my family. I didn't think it needed the ravioli, but if you were looking at it as a meal then definitely add the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I halved this recipe and made it using canned squash and skipped the pureeing step at the end. I also added potatoes and mashed them when they turned soft. I made the soup first and then added chopped up raw shrimp which cooked in the steaming hot soup while the ravioli's boiled. Turned out delicious. Without the alterations, i expect this soup is just as good. The potato just thickened it up and gave it more substance and the shrimp was a delicious pairing. So was a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
this was incredibly easy and eqally as tasty. will make again for certain -- thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This soup was absolutely fantastic - the nutmeg and wine give it the most subtle and wonderful flavor - highly recommended! I would suggest adding MORE SQUASH though - I doubled the amount of squash because when I pureed it the first time I found it too thin. Doubling the amount of squash just makes the flavor deeper, but doesn't affect the other ingredient proportions. For those looking to lighten it even further, I replaced the light cream with rice milk (you could do soy milk also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Great, filling soup. I added extra spice and a bit more squash. I also slashed the broth(made mine veggie) by about 1.5 cups. The spinach ravioli was a great addition. Can't wait to make it again- it was so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States