Butternut Squash Soup with Spinach Ravioli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I thought it was wonderful...I did add extra squash like some of the suggestions..the rest of the recipe I kept the same. Very different flavor...would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Very good. Used tortellini by mistake, which was def not as good as ravioli. Used two packages of frozen squash, should have used three. Used 3 cups of chicken stock - which was good. Could use more cumin. Cut the water by 1.5 cups. Add something else flavor-wise. Dash of hot sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was my first time trying butternut squash so I don't know if I just don't like butternut squash or I didn't like the recipe. It was way too thick for me, I expected more of a tomato soup texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sherwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. I also doubled the amount of squash because that flavor wasn't very strong. I only had wild mushroom ravioli on hand, which was fine, but next time I'll use what the recipe called for. I will also probably double the amount of butter. Overall, it's a very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Too much work! My husband and I each ate a little bowl, and no one went back for seconds. I was left with a huge pot that no one really wanted. It could have been delicious, but I felt like it was missing something, and even after blending it in a blender the squash gave it a grainy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
5 cups broth, 3 cups squash for great consistency. up the spices, add a diced apple. use puree setting on blender, NOT a hand mixer, that was crazy, mixture splattered everywhere... the soup/sauce really is very delicious - multiple uses..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious. Didn't have cream or leeks on hand, so I added an extra onion for the leek and subbed plain yogurt stirred with organic lowfat milk for the cream. Also, I was missing one cup of chicken broth so I added 1/4 extra cup of white wine plus 1/4 cup of sherry. Seasoned with white and black pepper and high-end parmesan cheese at the table. It was delicious. Next time I will try to have heavy cream and leeks on hand -- I love their delicate flavor. But I will keep my touch of sherry and the white pepper. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksdale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Incredible. I had expected this soup to be good but the complexity of spinach cheese ravioli with the squash was well beyond what I had anticipated. My modifications were 1) I forgotten the cream 2) I used veggie broth instead of chicken 3) I used a few tablespoons of red wine vinegar and 4) I used no white wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was delicious! I nixed the leeks and ginger and substituted with a whole sliced apple, softened in a frying pan with water for about 10 min and a bit more cinnamon. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Very interesting flavor palette, I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States