Butternut Squash Soup with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
It looks so good! I like the idea of sage in the soup. I'll write back if I get around to making it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Made this recipe for my Christmas party and it was a big hit! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Honestly, this came out terrible for me. I'm not sure if the 1 inch cubes should have been smaller. I'm not sure if the cayenne pepper that dominated the taste was necessary. I have no idea. Only 1 person at my dinner liked it, and that person was not me. I hope this recipe comes better for anyone reading this, but I followed the recipe and it was not good. I'm sorry, I love cooking and most recipes I read on AllRecipes are good, but this one did not come out good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I used Acorn Squash with this recipe. It turned out "nice" but not great. I think I would rather have it strained through some cheese cloth or something as it was overly textured. I think I will also add some more chicken boullion next time. The presentation was awesome and after the few tweaks listed above, this will be a holiday regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Fantastic! We had this at our Christmas dinner and everyone ate it, even the preschooler and toddler. My husband didn't care for the sage butter, but since that's added to each bowl to taste he left it out in later bowls. He also hates squash in general but liked this. We served it again last week when we had dinner with friends and it was a huge hit. It's now on regular rotation. The only changes we made were because the pantry was low: boullion & water instead of broth; McIntosh apples and therefore slightly reduced sugar; and since I didn't have sage leaves I melted a bunch of butter in a skillet, put in a tablespoon of rubbed dry sage, simmered for a minute, and then strained the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This is a wonderful "special" soup for family and friends during the holidays. Unfortuantly not everyone likes Butternut Squash, but for those willing to give it a try, are "pleasantly surprised". This is one of my favorite recipies and I followed it exactly as written. You can't go wrong!! Thanks Campbells Kitchen for sharing this terrific soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I don't care for Swanson broths, not much flavor and the salt and/or msg just dosn't get it for us. Used 'Imagine' chicken broth 1st time and only 1/8 tsp cayenne, used a squeeze of dark honey instead of sugar and added a bit of lemon juice at the end. 2nd time used 'Wolfgang Puck' chicken broth and used Jonagold apples instead of Granny Smith. WOW to both! Now I make it often and either way and just keep trying different spices and amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was a GREAT recipe! I did make a few changes though...I added 4 chopped cloves of Garlic and just a few pinches of Nutmeg. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber_in_PDX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This soup is amazing!!! I sautee the sage leaves in butter until they are crisp, and cool them on paper towels...they are exquisite!!! It is delicious!!!! I myself do not like coriander, so I omitted it. I took it to a ladies luncheon and everyone wanted the recipe!! PLEASE try it!! It is fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Wow! We served this recipe for company, never having made it before, and for someone we later found out, doesn't like squash soup. She really liked it and asked for the recipe. We also had extra and shared it with a nieghbour who absolutely raves about it and also asked for the recipe! Thank-you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. We're going to serve it again for New Year's Eve supper. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States