Butternut Squash Soup with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Excellent soup for Fall! Made with a veggie mock chicken broth, but other than that as written. This was well-liked by everyone in my house. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very tasty, but I haven't figured out the correct way to cut the squash, so that part was a real pain and time-consuming. I tried 3 different types of knives, and all of them were difficult to cut through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
It was AMAZING! Loved the sage on top, just perfect. Had Honey Crisp apples here and used them. Truly one of the best recipes, ever. Will now have guests over and serve to them. Thanks, so much. Glenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
We loved this. It was so creamy. I've made other butternut squash soup recipes, this is by far the easiest. I added a little apple cider, and cut back an equal amount on the broth. I also toasted some pecans along with the sage leaves and added them in. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
It's a weird soup. I think that it's best described as hot apple sauce with a kick. The apple overwhelms the squash. I made it, and I was wondering about how two apples would be in this soup. Previously when I've made a soup with apple, I have used 1/2 an apple for this quantity of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe is a hit with my friends and family. I always get lots of compliments. One modification I do to cut fat and calories is completely delete the butter. Instead, I add 3 large fresh sage leaves to the soup mixture as it simmers in a crock pot on high for 2 hours. Then I just blend the soup at the end. The smell is therapeutic and the soup is incredibly creamy (without having to add fatty cream)... so you get the best of both worlds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I did not like this soup. If I make it again, I would reduce the apples to just one apple. It tasted too apple-y. I prefer a more butternut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Best squash soup, ever! I've made this recipe several times now, for family, friends, and above all, myself. I can't get enough of this stuff. Thank you for making my life that much more enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Marcel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Smooth and savory. I used homemade broth to make it and that adds a bit because it is denser. I added a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Amazing!!! I loved this soup. I added one sweet potato and it was great! I also put the Onion, apple, butternut squash and sweet potato in the oven to roast a bit for a nice taste. I will be making this a lot this fall. :D Also, I cooked the sage in the soup and chopped it up with the soup blender instead of putting it on top of soup at the end. I think I added 4-5 leaves. And sprinkling toasted pumpkins seeds on top is a nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Maple Glazed Butternut Squash

Tender butternut squash is topped with a simple maple-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States