Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yum!!! I prefer the squash roasted. Split the squash in half, salt & pepper and put 1 TB butter in before roasting 1 1/2 hours. Pour the juices out into soup pot before cutting so you don't lose the liquid. It was great as it was, but the heat was minimal. I will make again with more jalapeno so I can try it with sour cream. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Totally vegetarian. Increased the coconut milk to 1 cup and added 1 cup of vegetable broth and sauteed the the onion in olive oil. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I roasted the squash first. Since I didn't have any jalapeno pepper, added Tumeric and a little paprika. Gorgeous and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really good. I used fat free evap milk and lite coconut milk and it was still plenty rich. I didn't bother with the sour cream. I'll keep this recipe as my go-to butternut squash soup recipe. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Yummy. This had a Thai flare to it and was oh so good. You have to like ginger as the ginger and Thyme are strong. I love using coconut milk and that added to the flavor. I skipped the garnish and served with whole grain crackers. I will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I loved this soup! I needed more chicken broth to boil the squash in it. Maybe I had a larger squash? We like our food on the spicy side, so I added more jalapenos and some cayenne pepper. Very rich and creamy tasting. Didn't need the sour cream... but spinkled some croutons on top for some added texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very good! Like some of the other reviewers I roasted the squash before adding it to the soup base. I also used evaporated goat milk as this was for a friend of mine who is lactose intolerant. I think the one jalapeno was just right; there is just a small amount of heat with each bite and we were serving this to kids. If I were to make this again for adults only I would probably add another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was pretty good. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I replaced it with 1/2 cup of coconut milk. I also added 2 jalapenos for extra heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was outstanding! I did cut the squash in half and roast it at 375 degrees for 1 1/4 hour until soft. Used 1/2 c. skim milk and FF evaporated milk. Only had jarred jalapeno pepper sliced and should have seeded those. My husband said it had the right amount of heat, but it put me into a sweat, so will seed the next time. Forgot the thyme, but will add next time. This is a soup that will warm you to your toes in the winter! Served with crusty bread, but croutons on top would be even better and then serve a green salad. Goes to my favorite file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States