Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Yum!!! I prefer the squash roasted. Split the squash in half, salt & pepper and put 1 TB butter in before roasting 1 1/2 hours. Pour the juices out into soup pot before cutting so you don't lose the liquid. It was great as it was, but the heat was minimal. I will make again with more jalapeno so I can try it with sour cream. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Totally vegetarian. Increased the coconut milk to 1 cup and added 1 cup of vegetable broth and sauteed the the onion in olive oil. Very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I roasted the squash first. Since I didn't have any jalapeno pepper, added Tumeric and a little paprika. Gorgeous and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really good. I used fat free evap milk and lite coconut milk and it was still plenty rich. I didn't bother with the sour cream. I'll keep this recipe as my go-to butternut squash soup recipe. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Yummy. This had a Thai flare to it and was oh so good. You have to like ginger as the ginger and Thyme are strong. I love using coconut milk and that added to the flavor. I skipped the garnish and served with whole grain crackers. I will make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I loved this soup! I needed more chicken broth to boil the squash in it. Maybe I had a larger squash? We like our food on the spicy side, so I added more jalapenos and some cayenne pepper. Very rich and creamy tasting. Didn't need the sour cream... but spinkled some croutons on top for some added texture. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very good! Like some of the other reviewers I roasted the squash before adding it to the soup base. I also used evaporated goat milk as this was for a friend of mine who is lactose intolerant. I think the one jalapeno was just right; there is just a small amount of heat with each bite and we were serving this to kids. If I were to make this again for adults only I would probably add another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was pretty good. I didn't have evaporated milk, so I replaced it with 1/2 cup of coconut milk. I also added 2 jalapenos for extra heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Beautiful soup. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States