Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Made as part of Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. I toasted some almonds with cajun seasoning and it tied everything together. Not too spicy for anyone.. however next time I make it as a family meal I look forward to added a little more kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Best soup EVER! to make things easier, I use the peeled/seeded squash from Costco and use jalapeños in a jar, and grated ginger that comes in a jar too. Saves lots of time in prep! Oh, really don't forget the sour cream and thyme...it's the perfect topper and looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This soup rocks! The hot hits on the back end of the taste. Spicy with a cream sauce is always muted, so this recipie goes in the sweet, hot category. I have a hand mixer, so the job was relatively easy, after getting the squash cut and mixed. Try this. With a little bit of effort, you will get a wonderful and different soup. Not for the faint hearted in the kitchen, or the people who like bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Galloway Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Yum, yum, yum!!! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
delicious, delicious, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I actually made this soup in October for my coworkers, and it was fantastic. I had about 4 cups left, and I froze it just to see how it would do. Pulled it out of the freezer yesterday morning and had it for dinner last night. It was still amazing!! Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used this recipe as a base for a really thick stew of veggies that were about to go bad. I baked the squash ahead of time, then blended it with the listed ingredients, using 1 can of coconut milk instead of evaporated milk + coconut. I then let it simmer with potatoes, leeks, and portabella mushrooms and thinned it a little with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Fantastic! This was a very big hit on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
My daughter loved it!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria Ceballos Ellsworth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
A big hit with the family but Didn't get much kick. Reading reviews I would also add another Jalapeno pepper for more heat. Next time will omit the white sugar. Coconut milk gives it plenty of sweetness. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States