Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Overall pretty good. I made with large jalapeno and 1/4 of seeds and it had a bit more then a little kick. In retrospect realized that while I like spicy food I didn't like spicy soup. Was not sure about the sugar so added about 3/4 tbs and it was little sweeter then I like. Can taste the coconut quite a bit but the ginger is sublte, so may add more. Taste is a bit one dimensional I feel like a little acid would be helpful, but haven't figured the best way. Also some garlic might be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I use powdered ginger to taste and extra jalapeno. Usually I also leave out the sour cream, and sometimes if I don't have evap milk, I'll just use a little whole milk instead. It's creamy, spicy, smooth, and DELICIOUS! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
After reading some of the reviews I chose to roast the butternut squash. I only roasted it for 30 minutes at 425 & it turned out perfectly. I used 2 jalapenos and dry ginger-about a 1/2 tsp. I loved it but felt the heat could have been stronger so I added some cayenne pepper. I did not even try the sour cream. I will play around with the spices a little maybe curry powder? I think you can do many things with this soup & it is delicious as it written. Start there & add what fits your personal tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Wow!! Awesome!! I modified the recipe to fit my Paleo lifestyle and added a little more kick!! I used coconut oil instead of butter, used 1 can of coconut milk instead of using evap milk, added 2 carrots instead of sugar, eliminated the sour cream, added 1 tsp. hot curry powder then just some fresh herbs from my garden, tarragon, basil and oregano, about a Tbl. each. It took a little longer to cook because of the carrots, next time I will chop them smaller so it will take less time. It was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I did not add the sugar, after having baked the squash with a tables spoon olive oil, no butter, the soup was so sweet on its own, this was a great recipe! Thank you for helping me get started with fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Heber City, Utah, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was perfect! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Oh my goodness!!!! WOW!!! Loved it. I roasted the squash, onions, and garlic first. I did omit the jalepeno just because I have to little mouths to feed. The 6 yr old wasn't a fan but the 1 yr old loved it. My husband and I both...well...scraped our bowls (embarrassed face). Oh and I put a dollop of Thai green curry paste into our individual bowls. It was sooooo wonderful. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
definitely will be making this again for the winter months! Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This soup is fabulous! I substituted Light Coconut Milk, Fat Free Evaported Milk, and Fat Free Chicken Broth and it is still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bearlover315

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States