Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is the bomb! My family and I loved it. I substituted a couple of items. Unsweetened Almond milk instead of evaporated milk. Truvia baking blend instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I tried this recipe as is and loved it! I had froze 1/2 of the recipe. I decided to try something new for leftover turkey from Christmas and defrosted the soup, added the turkey and heated it up. The flavors blended beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
absolutely delicious!! I used shallots instead of onion and 2 jalapeños for more of a kick. this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Oh So Good! This soup was delish! I did add a little cayenne and sage since we like these. All recipes say to puree it . It tasted so good I skipped that step.I also roasted the squash and onion.I really did not think my husband would eat it. To my surprise he went back for 2nd.'s. This will be a family favorite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet
Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It was the best soup I've ever eaten. The modifications I made... - Cut and cubed butternut, coated w coconut oil and roasted at 350 degrees. - I had no evaporated milk but google says a good substitution is 3/4 water mixed with 2/3 powdered milk to equal 1 cup evaporated milk. They're the same thing! - I added an extra jalapeño pepper to sauté. I used coconut oil to sauté instead of butter. - I added paprika powder and turmeric powder after the milk and coconut milk was poured in and mixed along with sea salt and pepper. I let it cook a little longer to allow flavors to meld then puree. - No need for sour cream! - For a diary-free soup - it is totally ok to increase the coconut milk and eliminate the evaporated milk. It'll still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have never had butternut squash before, but had purchased on and decided to try this recipe. Although there was great flavor as I added more peppers to make it spicier. This is a very rich soup and would be great as an add to a sandwich or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1tsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe! I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg right before I added the chicken stock. I've cooked this a few times and this last time I didn't have any jalapeño so I just added cayenne peper and it was just as good. I also don't add sour cream at the end and it's great! My boyfriend loves this soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Idroos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I JUST finished making and eating this incredible soup. I used Tabasco since I didn't have jalapenos on hand. I also used Simply Asian ginger seasoning because I had no fresh ginger available. Since I prefer my soups on the chunky side, I just used a potato masher in the pot to break up the squash a bit. My husband and sons loved it as well. Throughly comforting and enjoyable on a brisk, autumn day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made this recipe for the first time. Amazing flavor and pretty simple to make. Simple ingredients - simple process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Make it frequently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States