Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It was the best soup I've ever eaten. The modifications I made... - Cut and cubed butternut, coated w coconut oil and roasted at 350 degrees. - I had no evaporated milk but google says a good substitution is 3/4 water mixed with 2/3 powdered milk to equal 1 cup evaporated milk. They're the same thing! - I added an extra jalapeño pepper to sauté. I used coconut oil to sauté instead of butter. - I added paprika powder and turmeric powder after the milk and coconut milk was poured in and mixed along with sea salt and pepper. I let it cook a little longer to allow flavors to meld then puree. - No need for sour cream! - For a diary-free soup - it is totally ok to increase the coconut milk and eliminate the evaporated milk. It'll still taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have never had butternut squash before, but had purchased on and decided to try this recipe. Although there was great flavor as I added more peppers to make it spicier. This is a very rich soup and would be great as an add to a sandwich or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1tsp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe! I added 1/2 tsp of nutmeg right before I added the chicken stock. I've cooked this a few times and this last time I didn't have any jalapeño so I just added cayenne peper and it was just as good. I also don't add sour cream at the end and it's great! My boyfriend loves this soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Idroos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I JUST finished making and eating this incredible soup. I used Tabasco since I didn't have jalapenos on hand. I also used Simply Asian ginger seasoning because I had no fresh ginger available. Since I prefer my soups on the chunky side, I just used a potato masher in the pot to break up the squash a bit. My husband and sons loved it as well. Throughly comforting and enjoyable on a brisk, autumn day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Made this recipe for the first time. Amazing flavor and pretty simple to make. Simple ingredients - simple process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Make it frequently
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I followed the simple instructions exactly. This soup was amazing. I will make this again, and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margie Pfaff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I wanted this to be better than it was. Used roasted squash, but found it too plain for my taste. I added a bit more thyme & added some curry powder in the hopes to bring the flavors out, but it still just seemed . . . kind of boring. Not bad, just uninteresting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Best soup ever! My family was skeptical but they all went back for seconds! I did alter it a little. I used one 4oz can of chopped and peeled green chiles instead of jalapeño, I baked 2 butternut squash instead of peeling and cubing it (cut in half, remove seeds, face down on cookie sheet for 45-60 mins at 350 degrees), and used 2 cans of chicken broth. I did not use ginger as my family doesn't like it. After tasting it, I didn't use sour cream or thyme. It was awesome as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Love this soup. We get the cubed squash from Costco and then use two packages to double the recipe. No need to roast that way and really saves time. I mostly use red pepper flakes instead of the jalapeno becuase that is what we have on hand. Usually I'll saute up bacon and then some onion and red pepper in a little bacon grease and add it to the blended soup but it is good as written too. I only blend about 1/2 the soup because we like it a little chunkier. A little glug of wine at the end never hurts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States