Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Yummy! I used a whole can of lite coconut milk and skipped the evaporated milk and sugar. Not as spicy as I wanted (I know jalapenos can vary greatly, so no surprise), so I added a little cayenne to the mix. Really beautiful, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
OMG - this was SO VERY good! I must've had a larger squash as I needed extra liquid to cook the squash in. Then poured off quite a bit, before adding in the coconut milk to make a thicker soup. After several tries, found about 1-1/2 jalepenos work best - not too hot, not too tame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
4.5, next time I will dice the jalapeno rather than placing them in a food processor. I listened to the other reviews stating they needed more heat. This definitely helped but too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
SO GOOD. Texture was awesome. Almost frothy right after blending. I omitted jalapenos (didnt have) & added cumin, curry, garlic, cayanne, & nutmeg to taste to give more depth in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Great recipe, easy to make ahead and just add milk when rewarming. My daughter made for Thanksgiving dinner, and it was a hit! Used nonfat greek yogurt instead of sour cream. Delicious. Will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Best Squash Soup ever! I followed the recipe exactly, except I roasted the squash. It was really easy to make and delicious. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I added 1/2 can pumpkin (just bc I had it in the fridge and needed to use it)about 2 C more broth (still thick & creamy), 1/2 C more coconut milk, and a sprinkle of cinnamon. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
If I would have read the reviews and Roasted the squash, my experience would have been easier. I highly recommend cutting open the squash and cleaning out the "innards" before roasting. Rubbing olive oil on the exposed meat is always a good idea. I cooked the Onion, Jalapeno,Ginger mixture overnight, in a slow cooker. The complex flavor opened the sinuses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made the recipe as stated but left out the jalapeno since I have younger kids. I tasted it after it was all prepared and it just felt like it was missing something - it was a little bland. I added in some salt & pepper and nutmeg and it made this soup perfect. My husband didn't like it but the kids did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
WOW WOW WOW. Have made this three times now. I eat it until I can barely move. I never add the sour cream or thyme at the end and it doesn't matter. This is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadianGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States