Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
There is a reason this is a 5-star recipe. Its really good. You HAVE to roast the squash first. cut in half, put cut sides down into a baking dish, add a bit of water and bake at 350 for an hour. i followed the recipe exactly, but only used half of a jalapeno, as the one i had was HOT. my family raved about this soup. definitely a keeper. it tastes like something you would find at a super elegant restaurant. well done davey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Yummy! I loved this soup, I changed it a bit didn't add any cream and I made my own chicken stock but everything else was the same and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
My husband, who does NOT like squash LOVED this soup! He asked me to make a double batch next time. I did roast the squash before making the soup. It was easy to scoop out the flesh of the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Wow, what a really delicious soup! I did roast the squash, only because it is so much easier to work with after roasting. Cutting the raw squash in half is difficult, let alone cutting into cubes! I used 1 1/2 jalapeno peppers, perfect bite and low fat evaporated milk. I did not serve with sour cream, the soup is so creamy you really don't need it. I will taste before adding the sugar next time, I don't think you would need it, but...? Very good and is now in my recipe box! Thanks Davey for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
this soup turned out beautifully. i garnished with springs of thyme and sour cream and it was gorgeous. tasted wonderful and was a huge hit at my last dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I love this soup! The ginger and the hot pepper add the perfect flavours. This will become a regular soup for my family. I left out the sour cream and thyme and it was still amazing. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was fantastic!! It will definitely be my go to butternut squash soup recipe... good enough for the fanciest dinner party! Due to not having some things on hand I made the following changes: Omitted the milk and used a full can of coconut milk Omitted the sugar (just my taste) Used about 2 1/2 cups vegetable broth Didn't have the jalapeno, sour cream or thyme so didn't use them. It was phenomenal without though. I finished off each bowl with a squeeze of fresh lime juice and it really took it up a few notches. The acidity cuts the sweetness of the squash and gives it another dimension of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
LOVED THIS. I added a bit of curry powder to this recipe and i used powder to make my chicken broth, and i may have been heavy on the rest of the seasonings, but thats how my family prefers their food. Awesome turn out and I will definately be using this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was just delicious!! We love spicy food and I was expecting this to be a little spicy, however it wasn't, so don't be afraid to try this recipe as is if you're not into spicy foods. The flavourings in this soup certainly didn't overpower the wonderful butternuttiness and creaminess of this soup, but they did give the soup a wonderful depth of flavours. Next time I'll add an extra jalapeno though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States