Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Sooooo good! I start by baking the squash in the oven. Saute onion, garlic,grated ginger and habanero(because I like the soup spicy)in coconut oil. Add cooked squash and all ingredients to the pot and smooth with the immersion blender. This soup is a staple in my home, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is a really good soup! I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Amazing, I forgot the thyme I was too hungry used slightly less ginger, and greek yogurt instead of sour cream (I do this with everything never use sour cream any more), and I used cubed squash from the store. I also used my Nutri Bullet. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I used only the coconut milk because of a lactose issue, it was perfect. And amazing! I didn't have any jalopenos on hand, so I added a dash of cayenne. I bought the cubed butternut squash at the grocery and threw it right in the pot with the broth, onions and ginger, in about 20 minutes, I used the stick blender and voila! Thank you so much for this fast, easy, awesome recipe! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
So good! Almost more of a dessert given the sweetness. I had to add almost twice the stock to cover the squash, but other than that I made the recipe as is. I think next time I make it, I'll use two jalapeno's, as I didn't really taste it in this batch. I really don't think I'd change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
very yummy! amazing to have on a cold winters day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Ivany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Simply creamy deliciousness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I really loved this soup. It was really easy to make and is delicious. Instead of adding evaporated milk and coconut milk, I added only the can of coconut milk. It was an experiment since I'd prefer not to open two cans and not use all the contents for a recipe. I didn't miss the evaporated milk at all and the coconut milk made it sweet enough that I omitted the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amoebala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SoupClub217
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Needs a little more heat for our club, but overall a very good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great starting point. Left out the (bizarre) coconut and evaporated milk and used 1 c regular milk instead. Jalapeno seems an odd choice with butternut squash, so I substituted 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/4 tsp each turmeric and paprika. Cooked the onions longer than called for too, and added the thyme to the sauteed onions. The resulting soup had a nice earthy spicy flavor, without the bite of jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States