Butternut Squash Soup with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I really loved this soup. It was really easy to make and is delicious. Instead of adding evaporated milk and coconut milk, I added only the can of coconut milk. It was an experiment since I'd prefer not to open two cans and not use all the contents for a recipe. I didn't miss the evaporated milk at all and the coconut milk made it sweet enough that I omitted the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amoebala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SoupClub217
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Needs a little more heat for our club, but overall a very good addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great starting point. Left out the (bizarre) coconut and evaporated milk and used 1 c regular milk instead. Jalapeno seems an odd choice with butternut squash, so I substituted 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, and 1/4 tsp each turmeric and paprika. Cooked the onions longer than called for too, and added the thyme to the sauteed onions. The resulting soup had a nice earthy spicy flavor, without the bite of jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used Sunshine Squash instead of Butternut, since I had it on hand. I skipped the sugar, sour cream, evaporated milk, and butter. Instead, I sautéed my onions in 1 T. coconut oil and used a full can of coconut milk. I ran my hand blender around the batch after it was done cooking. Moo-AH! It was magnifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It was super. I didn't use the sour cream, and didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is going to be my new go-to butternut squash soup recipe. My modifications: Used two pre-cut packages of squash and roasted them with a light coating of olive oil, garlic salt and white pepper at 400 degrees for about 45 min before putting into pot. I accidentally bought creme de coco instead of coconut milk so I used about half of what the recipe called for to manage sweetness. I used two jalapeños instead of one and use fresh ginger (don't substitute this!)- it was a hit! No need for sour cream, but add some croutons for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I'm not a fan of squash (of any kind) but this recipe is absolutely amazing!! The onion and jalapeno "kick" make it. Thanks for the tip about roasting the squash first because it was a bear to peel. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I really don't think there is any way I could improve on this recipe. It's absolutely delicious and it's incredibly easy. It's possible to make it in a pot, in a slow cooker, or, if you're like me, in a rice cooker in Asia. I have made this recipe three times now, over the space of four years, and just pulled it out this week because I remembered how delicious it was. I have used both squash and pumpkin to great success, and usually use red pepper flakes instead of fresh peppers, because fresh peppers are hard to find here and I HAVE red pepper flakes. In any case, it's delicious, and whether or not you have a blender (I don't) it's good smooth OR chunky, especially if you like texture in your food. My Russian friends are huge fans too. There's something they love about soup with a big dollop of sour cream in the middle. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Amazing!! Followed everything except didn't add extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Oh MY! This is soooooooooooooo good. Could be the best soup I've ever made. It's so rich, I can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States