Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love this soup! I add a bit nutmeg and a good teaspoon of cumin that gives it such a rich savory taste! Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I changed it just a little. First of all i did a double receipe. Used vegetable broth ( we have a vegetarian in the household...) Added a pinch of cumin and of garlic powder( next time I am adding 1 clove or 2 of garlic). I did not transfer veggies to mash them. I used my immersion blender to blend everything at around 37 or 40 minutes of cook time. Added a spash of cream as I was blending everything and left it an other 10 or 15 minutes on the stove.... The 10 people I had that night for dinner raved about it. they might have not licked their bowl clean but they certainly scrapped every bit of the soup that was left in their bowl with baguette... Thank you MapleBird for that awsome receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I thought this recipe was great. It was exactly what I thought Butternet Squash soup should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Pairs nice with balsamic glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was super easy to make! It was smooth and flavourful! I didn't have any marjoram so I used thyme instead and I substituted cayenne pepper for chili flakes. It made it a bit spicy, but we still enjoyed it. Next time I will stick to using cayenne pepper. I will definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Can be dairy free, and easily vegetarian this is a great soup for anyone. I like to add walnuts and/or a spicy sausage. You can also add cream if you desire the more traditional butternut squash soup. Cutting up the squash is worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Took the advice of other reviews and roasted the butternut squash and sweet potato first. Also wrapped an onion 2 carrots and a stalk of celery in tin foil with a little garlic infused olive oil and roasted it beside them halfway through cooking time and added everything together to the stock. The rest was just as the recipe stated with a liberal dash of cinnamon to spice it up. Delish !!! Definitely a keeper and with homemade crusty bread as a side a nutritious late night snack for partying teenagers .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falkirkscottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
this was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Easy and healthy. I used only the squash, no potato or carrot. Sautéed a couple cloves garlic with the onion and celery. Baked the squash and added with the broth. Added a pinch of curry powder and a tiny pinch of nutmeg. Pureed with stick blender. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is the best butternut squash soup I've made! I doubled the recipe, and followed it exactly. Then I added a big sweet potato, 3/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp sweet curry powder, and 1/2 tsp. chipotle ground red pepper. I pureed it with my immersion blender. I plan to serve it with hot beef sausage (smoked sausage with jalapeno and red peppers) on the side because my husband won't eat the soup if I add the sausage to it. I tried it with a bit of shredded parm on it, and it tasted fine, but I don't think the parm added anything to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,089) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States