Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I modified this a bit from the original recipe based on the other reviews. I left out the butter and celery. Stop and Shop had cut butternut squash on sale, so I used a 20oz pack of that. Used 1 potato, roasted the squash, potato and carrots in a little olive oil for 20 minutes. Sauteed the onion and garlic in the pan, used vegetable broth, and all the roasted items. I added cumin, cinnamon, dash of celery salt, black pepper and red pepper flakes. To make it really creamy I added a quarter of an avocado. I put a little too much cinnamon, next time I will just do a quick shake. Blended it an it's rich, creamy and the hint of heat is perfect. Thanks for a great base recipe and all the suggestions. I will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Years later, and this recipe is still making its way into good cooks' notebooks and card files! I followed this recipe very closely, with only a change in the chicken stock. I essentially concentrated that flavor by taking 16 oz water and using about 1.5 tablespoons (T.) natural chicken stock/bouillon. This added salt, so I didn't add that at the end. I'd seen other reviewers mention the recipe was bland, so I added a teeny dash of paprika, cumin, turmeric and garlic powder...very, very little. It blended down to the consistency of puree or baby food, which we really like (real 'stick-to-your-ribs soup'), adding a little water after blending to make it the thickness we like. The soup had a ton of flavor and I doubt I even needed those extra spices. Definitely a keeper...will make this again...and again...and again...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a very flavorful soup. I did add a bit of nutmeg and just a pinch of curry powder per other reviewers suggestions. I didn't add any sour cream or anything, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
So easy and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UrbanskiCircus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Yes I make this recipe every year since I bought your soup recipe mag.lob this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very simple and delicious!!! I've had triple this recipe, as my family cannot get enough...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
We were blessed with an abundance of butternut and acorn squash this year. I was so excited to try this recipe. My husband and I both loved the flavor. We added some minced garlic and some curry. It was thick and wonderful! We will eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I have made it quite a few times now, especially at this time of the year. I add a teaspoon of curry, bake the squash beforehand, and usually forgo the celery. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
We have done this recipe several times. This last round I put in a sweet potato and parsnip, as well as part of a green apple (which I had seen listed in other recipes) and it is DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,034) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States