Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
ok, i followed most everyone's advice about adding some additional spices and it payed off! i didn't have curry powder so i used paprika and also cumin, garlic powder (plus garlic glove in the beginning), pepper flakes and salt & pepper. SO YUMMY!! AND i also followed the advice to precook the squash before cutting up - i think that helped a lot. in fact, it was nice and soft when i added it to the mix so when it was time to puree i only had to use the non-electric hand held thingy. the squash mashed up nicely with big chunks of the other stuff. i served with sourdough toast and i used greek yogurt instead of sour cream in 1 bowl, but i could take it or leave it. i will probably use pre-cut squash next time, but my only real regret is not making more! thanks for the input everyone! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The first time I made this I stuck to the recipe. This time I made some changes. Instead of butter, I used olive oil to lightly brown the vegetables. I also added some red pepper flakes to add a bit of spice and a little curry powder to add a little depth of flavor. At the end, instead of adding more stock, I added a little bit (like 2 T.) of half-and-half for richness. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly and it was easy to make and sooo good! I added in some curry seasoning and left out the celery. It is creamy and has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This soup was very easy and tasty. I did change a few things. I added 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg, and 1/2 cup light sour cream. I omitted the celery as advised in other people's reviews. My boyfried loved it and made sure i saved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I liked this soup! I think the potatoes make all the difference. I added garlic and plenty of salt. I agree that celery doesn't puree well but it's not that hard to remove the "strings" from a stalk--I wouldn't omit it. I think it's important to use good stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cornville, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This soup was so tasty and hearty! It was tough to cut up that squash but it may be because I have lousy knives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol28
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I've made it once. As others, I baked the squash ....very easy. I also added- Nutmeg & cinnamon, but didn't stop there cause it still didn't have the zing I wanted so I added 1/2-3/4 tsp red pepper and 3-4 pinches of saffron. Loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Very yummy! My first try at this soup and it was a success. I added some cinnamon, left out the celery (can't stand it!), and roasted the squash in the oven first - split, rubbed with olive oil and sea salt - for an hour first. I also added sour cream at the end. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Halbig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Subbed 1 potatoe for a sweet potato. Very good consistency. Followed recipe exact otherwise. Needs a bit more spice. Next time add some curry, nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I added garlic, more onions, caramelize the onions, less carrot, I used a few shakes of Pensey's Florida Blend of tellicherry Indian black peppercorns cracked with hot chili peppers and their Tuscan Sunset herb blend but now I wish I tried curry powder and a little cardamon on 1/2 the batch. Not allowed to have any dairy right now so I cheated with the small amount of butter (in a serving) and held on to be able to avoid my two favorites next to my wife...Ms. Cream Cheese or Ms. Sour Cream. I'm not sure how that ended last time but my pillow and pajamas were a mess. We loved this soup on the Red Lunar eclipse and just in time for Sucote, the Fall harvest festival. Be imaginative with your spices. This recipe is a great place to play with spices or let your friends play individually at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy the Kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Tripoli, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States