Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This soup was very good. I cooked two minced garlic cloves with the onion, celery, etc. I added a pinch of dill weed and some hot pepper flakes to give it a kick. I only had two carrot sticks in the fridge, but it was fine with just that. I bought pre-peeled, pre-cut butternut squash, which made it easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Ahhhhh amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Make this every fall for the past 3 yrs. I add nutmeg to it. The potatoe provides a good balance to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe is sooo good! I use sweet potato instead of regular potato. I don't think it needs sour cream. Just some garlic and I have tried with some curry too which is nice, but not necessary. I also bake the squash first which makes it way less prep. I don't dice anything, just cut in chunks and simmer for an hour. It should be soft enough when blended. Super quick, healthy and easy. Hubby and little guy absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This was the first time I've ever made butternut squash soup, and I loved it!! The entire family ate it including my 2 toddlers who hate soup in general. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I happen to agree that if you follow this exact recipe it can be bland. I added some sage and some nutmeg though not too much.... Just to give it a little of that holiday flavor. I also used my handheld blender and mixed it up right in the pot. Came out awesome and I froze most of it since I am hosting thanksgiving. One less thing to think about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Outstanding basic recipe, with full credit to Maplebird for the original inspiration! Like many others, I took some liberties according to my (and my wife's) taste - and tendency to want to change things 'just cause.' I vertically halved a fairly large squash and microwaved it (high) about 15 min in a half-inch of water - it was easy to scoop out the flesh with a grapefruit spoon. I cubed one Idaho potato and one sweet potato, and parboiled them briefly before adding them to the skillet (olive oil) with the sautéing onion - to which I had added two cloves minced garlic. I omitted the carrot due simply to taste, and added a minced fresh jalapeño (seeded) pepper to the onion/garlic/potatoes mixture. I transferred the sautéed mix and squash to a soup pot, along with about four cups of hot vegetable broth (I'm vegetarian). Brought to a boil with salt, some white pepper, and a shake of red pepper flakes. (Add water/broth as needed to desired consistency.) After about 45 minutes on medium low heat, uncovered, I added half a cup of half-and-half, reduced heat to very low for five minutes, and did not puree. And the required dollop of SC - sour cream - in the bowl...Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lifes_1_journey
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Made this today and definitely felt that it was bland. I added some garlic powder (would sautée one fresh clove next time), paprika, curry and cayenne pepper. To those who are considering a fellow reviewed suggestion to use a hand mixer: don't do it! I thought it was a genius idea but even with little soup in a large pot, soup splattered all over me and my stove!! The lid only contained a bit of the mess. I'll definitely use the blender next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made this last night for dinner. I thought it was a little bland so I added 1/2 tsp garlic, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice and 3/4 cup brown sugar. Even though I added 1/4 brown sugar each time I thought it was too sweet. I will reduce this next time but definitely thought 1/2 cup was not enough. I also added about 1/3 cup 35% M.F. thick cream. It was delicious and I will definitely will make this again. I gave it 5 stars anyway because it's a great starter base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States