Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Love that it is cream free! I can make this vegan or not depending on audience. I play with the root veg. sometimes add carrot, sometimes potato all depends on what is on hand. honestly they are just fillers anyway - love it and so does the family! Thank you for providing a low fat, healthy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Very good! I added some garlic and thyme and a little half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
very tasty but I added some red pepper, some curry powder and garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Awesome Recipe! I followed it pretty much to the letter except i did roast the squash first. I also added a little bit of nutmeg and a dash of curry powder. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I made this recipe EXACTLY as written, and it was savory and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I really enjoyed the recipe just as it made. Next time I will bake the squash. That was the only painful part. I thought about adding garlic but decided to try it without. My teenage daughter who doesn't really enjoy squash came home and ate two helpings of this soup. She thought it was great. I made some garlic toast rolls as a topping and they gave the soup more texture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I modified this a bit from the original recipe based on the other reviews. I left out the butter and celery. Stop and Shop had cut butternut squash on sale, so I used a 20oz pack of that. Used 1 potato, roasted the squash, potato and carrots in a little olive oil for 20 minutes. Sauteed the onion and garlic in the pan, used vegetable broth, and all the roasted items. I added cumin, cinnamon, dash of celery salt, black pepper and red pepper flakes. To make it really creamy I added a quarter of an avocado. I put a little too much cinnamon, next time I will just do a quick shake. Blended it an it's rich, creamy and the hint of heat is perfect. Thanks for a great base recipe and all the suggestions. I will be making this quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Years later, and this recipe is still making its way into good cooks' notebooks and card files! I followed this recipe very closely, with only a change in the chicken stock. I essentially concentrated that flavor by taking 16 oz water and using about 1.5 tablespoons (T.) natural chicken stock/bouillon. This added salt, so I didn't add that at the end. I'd seen other reviewers mention the recipe was bland, so I added a teeny dash of paprika, cumin, turmeric and garlic powder...very, very little. It blended down to the consistency of puree or baby food, which we really like (real 'stick-to-your-ribs soup'), adding a little water after blending to make it the thickness we like. The soup had a ton of flavor and I doubt I even needed those extra spices. Definitely a keeper...will make this again...and again...and again...!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TartanSongbird007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is a very flavorful soup. I did add a bit of nutmeg and just a pinch of curry powder per other reviewers suggestions. I didn't add any sour cream or anything, and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States