Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this soup for a pre-Thanksgiving meal appetizer. It is beautiful and SO delicious! The only thing I did differently was add a cup of heavy cream right at the end. It was luscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinLou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Fantastic! Cut the recipe in half. Omitted the celery and potatoes. Sautéd 1 tsp garlic, 1/2 onion, 1 cubed sweet potato and 1 carrot in 1 Tbls butter with a little salt and pepper. I added 2 cups of water with a vegan vegetable bullion cube by Rapunzel. Once the water boils away, I added 1 cup water and 1 cup of milk. Added 1 tsp of a curry blend season and squash. Used a hand blender to make smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I combined 2 Butternut Squash Soup recipes. Roasted 2 medium squash with 2 cloves garlic for about 45 minutes. Meanwhile sautéed small onion, a carrot, a stalk celery in about 2 TB butter. Add salt. Let that sauté on low for about 15 minutes. Peeled and sliced thinly a potato and an apple. Added to veggies. Scooped the squash into pot along with roasted garlic. Then added chicken stock to cover plus about 1/2 cup apple cider. Brought to a boil and simmered for about 1/2 hour. Added little nutmeg and cayenne. Added about 2 ounces lite cream cheese. Stirred till melted. Used immersion blender till smooth and creamy. Correct seasonings. I ended up adding about another 1/3 cup apple cider and little salt. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Solid soup recipe. I added 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper to spice it up a little. Used two carrots and omitted the celery. Delicious and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Lynn H
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I made this soup and it was FANTASTIC! I read the other reviewers and got some good ideas...I baked the squash at 375 for 1 hr and I took the strings off the celery and used all the veggies in the recipe and added minced garlic from a jar to equal 1 clove. after cooking the vegetables in the broth I mashed them up with a potato masher (because one reviewer complained about splattering when she used her immersion blender). I scooped the seeds out, discarded, and then scooped the squash out of the shell (no peeling, yea!)into the veggies in the pan and used the immersion blender to perfectly puree the whole thing. I added 1/2t cinnamon and same amount of fresh ground nutmeg, a pinch of curry powder, a pinch of sage, a little red pepper flakes (and for good measure, a pinch of cayenne). also about 1/2 t each of salt and black pepper (from a can--lazy?). The spices were undetectable, individually, but the blend was AMAZING! Since my husband doesn't eat squash OF ANY KIND, I divided this into storage containers and used the soup for more than a week and ate the whole thing MYSELF!! I put it out in my overflow fridge in the garage. I'm getting ready to make this again today. I hope I don't burn-out on it, but if I do, I'll freeze it in individual servings for later. P.S. I tried a little sour cream and it was good, but just as good without...also great soup cold or hot!!...makes WAY more than 4 servings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Fantastic! I cooked the squash by cutting it in half and covering it with plastic wrap, put in the microwave for 20 min then let it sit for 10 min before removing from microwave. Cooked perfectly, scooped it out, and added it to soup and pureed soup in blender. Seasoned with sea salt, pepper and 1/2 tsp allspice. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by burgerdivas
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was a great recipe and very easy to make!!! I gave it 4 stars because I wish I added turkey neck!! But seriously delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great and easy recipe. Added 1 sautéed red pepper which gave it a slightly sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Taste great and easy to make. Will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Great recipe, Don't be afraid to freestyle a little with it. Use nutmeg, allspice, pepper and cumin to bring out the wonderful flavours of the base ingredients. I have had many requests to make this again! Love it! I would suggest that it takes a little longer than 5 minutes to 'brown' the veg base. Try 10-15 minutes. The extra time is worth the concentrated flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States