Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great Soup! However I did follow suggestions from other reviews and omitted the potato and cooked the squash whole in the oven before peeling and mashing it for the soup (so much easier than cutting a raw squash!!). I also added 1/2 tsp curry powder, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, a dash of nutmeg, and 1-2 cloves garlic to the sauteeing veggies before adding the stock and then the squash. Finally, I don't have a full size blender so I just mashed the squash and added it to the soup and we still liked it! Definitely not a "creamy" texture if that's what you want, but still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My Husband and myself did not like this soup at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Loved it, but I didn't use the potatoes. I added cream after I blended it and added italian seasoning. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Easy, healthy and so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This soup was so delicious!!! I added some more veggies in because I had some on hand that I wanted to utilize...turnips, carrots, etc. I also stirred in some sour cream right before serving. It came out great :) Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a great base recipe that you could mold to fit your desires. I went ahead and cubed the squash raw, and will probably end up baking it if I have time on the next go around. I used veggie broth instead of chicken. I wasn't able to add celery so I just doubled the carrot and also added about 2 tsp of ground sage. I'm sure you could add any herb/spice of your choice and it would be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyBolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
A household favorite in the fall/winter. I've made it at least twice a year for the last 4 years and it always gets rave reviews with friends and family. I've made it as written and it's fabulous and I've experimented with a pinch of this and a pinch of that and it was still fabulous and fun. I love that his recipe doesn't require any cream (as most others do) but yet it's still extremely creamy in texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
It was a little bland, I added some of the recommended cinnamon and nutmeg, but the recommended bacon bits are what REALLY made the soup enjoyable. It was sort of lifeless without the meat chunks. It was a hernia effort to make, but I was proud of it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This soup was good. I took the advise to add garlic and curry. I fried the veggies and then pressure cooked them for about 10-15 mins. to save time. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Love this soup. It it creamy without adding milk products - always a plus for me. I make a triple batch and froze some. After reheating it is just a delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States