Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Truthfully, I had never cooked with butter nut squash before, so I wasn't ever sure we would like it. I didn't have any celery, but was also roasting fresh asparagus, so I just threw those stems in instead. I use my immersion blender to purée it all & it was really pretty good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Per husband-- "Tasty!" Toddler liked it, too. Very easy. I started the broth in the soup pot and just added the veggies as I cut them, so it only had to boil about 10 minutes before it was ready to puree. Saved lots of time and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Loved it. I doubled the celery and carrots and added garlic, pepper, and a bit of salt (was using low sodium broth). My 15 month old who doesn't eat veggies couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So I've made this recipe using the directions above for thanksgiving every year for three years. Today I added more veggies to it -- leek, turnip, parsnip, and parsley. This soup above is such a great base -- i can eat it like that or add more. This is a must-make for me every few weeks from nov to feb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
loved this recipe!! I did add the red pepper flakes that others suggested and it was mighty tasty! I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Rich vegetable flavor! i used cloves, cinnamon, cayenne and nutmeg to season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was delicious, simple and really lets the taste of butternut squash shine through! I did not add celery or carrots, and only had red potatoes. I added one garlic clove. I mashed the soup roughly in the pot when done, added a splash of half and half to each bowl as desired. A nice alternative to the cinnamon/ginger/curry types of squash soups. (ps - I microwaved the squash for 5 minutes, then peeled and cubed)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this tight for a cold and rainy Hawaii night. I usually don't get to make soups too much because if the weather but I was at Costco and came across a package of pre-cut and diced butternut squash. I followed the recipe almost exactly except I added 2 carrots and 2 cloves of garlic to the sautéed mix. It was super easy and the hubby and 3 year old loved it even without sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe before and really liked it, but, I knew the celery was too much...I did not omit it, just used a couple of sticks, plus 1 tbsp. extra of real butter, and a 1/2 c. of sour cream. Still lowfat, taste great, and good for you !! It's a "win win" !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Didn't change a thing. Family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States