Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
My family really liked this, so I took it to our church's potluck. Those that ate it commented on how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good. As others recommended used 1 sweet potato and one regular, and used the celery and carrot per the recipe. I did add a pinch of curry and some garlic, and topped with sour cream. I will definitely make this again; my whole family enjoyed this for Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Loved it! I made butternut squash soup before w cream cheese and didn't like how heavy it tasted! This was a good combination and really brings out the natural taste and aroma of the squash! I added some Cajun pepper and sour cream for added flavor! Suggest letting it simmer for another hour to really let the flavors out!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Wonderful recipe! We followed directions as written except I baked squash first and added to other veggies. Instead of butternut squash I used buttercup squash. Very rich flavor and the color glorious! Served with a splash of sherry in each bowl and a dollop of sour cream. A must for holiday dinners! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made it for the 1st time tonight. It's one of the most delicious soup I've ever made & except for half an apple added, followed recipe adding lots of pepper & bit of salt. Paired it with home made garlic toast it was a match. Simply perfect for the sub zero weather. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Simple ingredients, marvelous taste. My young son even likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONABOUT
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This recipe is great. I used vegetable broth in the place of chicken and I added an inch of chopped fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this soup for a pre-Thanksgiving meal appetizer. It is beautiful and SO delicious! The only thing I did differently was add a cup of heavy cream right at the end. It was luscious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinLou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Fantastic! Cut the recipe in half. Omitted the celery and potatoes. Sautéd 1 tsp garlic, 1/2 onion, 1 cubed sweet potato and 1 carrot in 1 Tbls butter with a little salt and pepper. I added 2 cups of water with a vegan vegetable bullion cube by Rapunzel. Once the water boils away, I added 1 cup water and 1 cup of milk. Added 1 tsp of a curry blend season and squash. Used a hand blender to make smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I combined 2 Butternut Squash Soup recipes. Roasted 2 medium squash with 2 cloves garlic for about 45 minutes. Meanwhile sautéed small onion, a carrot, a stalk celery in about 2 TB butter. Add salt. Let that sauté on low for about 15 minutes. Peeled and sliced thinly a potato and an apple. Added to veggies. Scooped the squash into pot along with roasted garlic. Then added chicken stock to cover plus about 1/2 cup apple cider. Brought to a boil and simmered for about 1/2 hour. Added little nutmeg and cayenne. Added about 2 ounces lite cream cheese. Stirred till melted. Used immersion blender till smooth and creamy. Correct seasonings. I ended up adding about another 1/3 cup apple cider and little salt. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States