Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Took the advice of other reviews and roasted the butternut squash and sweet potato first. Also wrapped an onion 2 carrots and a stalk of celery in tin foil with a little garlic infused olive oil and roasted it beside them halfway through cooking time and added everything together to the stock. The rest was just as the recipe stated with a liberal dash of cinnamon to spice it up. Delish !!! Definitely a keeper and with homemade crusty bread as a side a nutritious late night snack for partying teenagers .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by falkirkscottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
this was excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Easy and healthy. I used only the squash, no potato or carrot. Sautéed a couple cloves garlic with the onion and celery. Baked the squash and added with the broth. Added a pinch of curry powder and a tiny pinch of nutmeg. Pureed with stick blender. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is the best butternut squash soup I've made! I doubled the recipe, and followed it exactly. Then I added a big sweet potato, 3/4 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp sweet curry powder, and 1/2 tsp. chipotle ground red pepper. I pureed it with my immersion blender. I plan to serve it with hot beef sausage (smoked sausage with jalapeno and red peppers) on the side because my husband won't eat the soup if I add the sausage to it. I tried it with a bit of shredded parm on it, and it tasted fine, but I don't think the parm added anything to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Truthfully, I had never cooked with butter nut squash before, so I wasn't ever sure we would like it. I didn't have any celery, but was also roasting fresh asparagus, so I just threw those stems in instead. I use my immersion blender to purée it all & it was really pretty good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Per husband-- "Tasty!" Toddler liked it, too. Very easy. I started the broth in the soup pot and just added the veggies as I cut them, so it only had to boil about 10 minutes before it was ready to puree. Saved lots of time and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Loved it. I doubled the celery and carrots and added garlic, pepper, and a bit of salt (was using low sodium broth). My 15 month old who doesn't eat veggies couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
So I've made this recipe using the directions above for thanksgiving every year for three years. Today I added more veggies to it -- leek, turnip, parsnip, and parsley. This soup above is such a great base -- i can eat it like that or add more. This is a must-make for me every few weeks from nov to feb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
loved this recipe!! I did add the red pepper flakes that others suggested and it was mighty tasty! I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Rich vegetable flavor! i used cloves, cinnamon, cayenne and nutmeg to season
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States