Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brown_Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
this worked really well as a guideline but i didnt follow it exactly since i didnt have chicken stock, instead i had some squash i had baked on the side, i scooped the meat out of those and simmered it in water making a sort of squash stock if you will, i added the whole kit and kaboodle to the soup and proceeded to baby it for a while tasting and adjusting until i was happy with it, my kids gobbled it up with some warm tortilla on the side for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josef
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I had never tried squash before so I was not sure what to expect. Despite the very good reviews on this recipe, I could not help but notice a fair few said it was very bland, based on these reviews, I was not sure what to expect and so I did not have great expectations. The colour of the soup is amazing and the smell is great and as for the taste, I absolutely loved this, it actually is really creamy and full of flavour, I am not a huge fan of soup normally but I was so pleased with this I wanted more (I made enough for 4 servings and as it is just for myself, I get to look forward to every bowl). Definitely goes onto my "make every third week" recipe list. It was the best soup I have ever tasted or at least the best in a very long time, if I had paid for this as a starter in a restaurant I would have been really happy with my choice. I am baffled as to why anyone would say this soup is bland... I used just black pepper on top and added a dash of cinnamon, it was delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I took the veggies as suggested here, and sweet potato to butternut squash soup with a kick. wonderful base/ marriage to make a soup I'll definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Love this recipe & have made numerous times, usually adding cumin & sometimes a pinch of curry. I like chopping up all the veggies, minus celery & wrapping in foil & baking in oven first, then putting all with juices in blender & adding it to the chicken stock till desired consistency is reached. Haven't tried the sour cream, will do that tonight as have the veggies roasting in the oven as I write this - bonnieg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I could eat this every day for the rest of my life. We added some cubed ham and it was very hearty. Add some buttered french bread and a glass of wine and it makes a perfect winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
So yummy! I left out the carrot (didn't have any on hand). I added garlic salt, nutmeg, paprika, and Himalayan pink sea salt. I also topped it with kale 'chips'. It turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Never had butternut soup,but boy was it good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was delicious. The first time I made it it was perfect. I left out the celery and onion and used veggie stock. I added garlic and curry powder based on another review. I underestimated how much chopped up butternut squash I had but this was a good thing. I used fewer potatoes and carrots and less veggie stock and the soup was thick and sweet and delicious. The second time I followed the recipe more closely (no celery and onion, though) and it wasn't nearly as sweet and flavorful. I could taste the potatoes more than the butternut squash. I will definitely make it like I did the first time in the future. It was good both times; the first way was just more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Delicious base recipe! I added garlic, and used frozen pureed butternut squash to save time. It was ready very quickly. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,030) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States