Butternut Squash Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I really enjoyed this soup! Next time I think I will be adding more spices (curry etc,) but overall it was excellent. Another tip for peeling butternut squash: use a cheese grater! - some shapes might work better than others, but I have a convex shaped cheese grater and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I love the simplicity of this recipe. I have made many variations of butternut squash soup without a recipe. I left out the celery but added a 1/2 tsp of celery powder for flavour. I also enjoy the added taste of freshly grated nutmeg and a clove of garlic. If you prefer a little sweeter, try adding maple syrup and a pinch of cinnamon as well. Such wonderful versatility....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
It is a nice healthy recipe and some tips of the other reviews would help, like the garlic and curry powder , but when you tweak it with bacon, white wine or some other calorie adding suggestions it doesn't make sense , then it becomes a whole other recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodhaven, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made this with an extra tablespoon of butter and no potatoes and it is delish. This is a very fresh veggie version but if you want some punch add some fresh ground ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
This is one of the best butternut soups I've made. I tweaked it a little by adding a clove of garlic, minced and a pinch of red pepper chili flakes. Just a pinch though, because they give it a bit of zing. My husband loves soups with meat in them so I fried a couple strips of bacon till they were crispy and then cut them into small pieces and just added the bacon to the individual bowls of soup. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Acaster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe for squash soup. It is like a meal in a bowl! I did not change a thing in the recipe. It is easy to make and uses ingredients that you would normally have on hand. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Thanks giving good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Turned out wonderful on a cold winter weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
What a delicious recipe. We added sausage, extra veggies and some pesto. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was my first "scratch soup" I've ever made...extremely easy and better than a 5* restaurant. I'm new to the kitchen, and found this very tasty for a first-timer. It definitely needs a little more pizazz like garlic and cinnamon. Blending the soup is the key to making the ingredients smooth. A bowl of this stuff is about $10 in my area restaurants, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States