Butternut Squash Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great use for (home made) baby food butternut squash! The rolls turned out great, I made the recipe exactly. A few notes though. If the squash is pre made and thawed in the fridge, warm it up before adding to the recipe, at least room temp. Adding it cold slowed the rising a lot. But after forming the rolls I left them for about 90 min for the 2nd rise, and they turned out beautiful. Also, I'd like a bit more taste, so I might try more salt, or less brown sugar. It was worth making though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We really enjoyed these. It was a great way to use all that butternut squash we always have. The first time I made them they turned out perfect. The second time not so much... I was in a hurry though and must have forgotten something. They have a great flavor and went well with Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Fab-u-lous! Absolute best rolls, ever! My husband couldn't believe it when I told him there was butternut squash in these rolls. I made them a second time for my family and they devoured them. I plan on bringing these to Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow and doubling the recipe. For roasting the butternut squash, I followed the advice of others and cut the squash in half length-wise, put both halves down in a 9x13 pan with a little water, baked at 375 uncovered for an hour, the squash came right out! Thanks so much for the recipe, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My family inhaled these! I will definitely take these to Thanksgiving dinner. The butternut squash was very easy to bake. I just sliced it in half, lengthwise, scooped out the seeds and placed in an 11 x 13 pan in the oven at 350 for about 30-40 minutes. I added just a tiny bit of water and covered with foil. Once it was tender, I just spooned the squash right out of the shell. This is such a great way to add fiber and nutrients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
They were super tasty, I just think the flavor could have been more potent. Still, great dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
These are the most amazing rolls I have ever made!! My kids love them too. It is an EASY way to sneak in those extra veggies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I did not have butternut squash, but I did have organic yams so I roasted mine and measured out enough for this recipe. I used my Kitchen Aid to make this recipe. I proofed my yeast with the teaspoon of sugar and warm milk/water in the mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the rest of the wet ingredients, then added the sugar and flour. (I somehow forgot the salt. It didn't matter, I didn't miss it.) When I added the flour, it ended up that I needed a whole other cup and a half of flour to get the dough to form into a ball and jump on the bread hook. Once it did, I kneaded the dough with the hook for five minutes, then set it to rise for an hour. Once it doubled, I made cloverleaf rolls out of this dough, using my small cookie dough scoop. Once I'd gotten all of them done, I drizzled them with butter and set them to double again in the muffin tins. 375* for 14 minutes was just right for cloverleaf muffins. I loved the flavor of this dough, though it really did need more flour than was called for. I ended up getting 18 BIG cloverleaf rolls out of this recipe, three balls per roll. Good thing my family (and hopefully my older neighbor down the street) likes yeast rolls. I hope to try this again when I actually have butternut squash. I really needed to use my yams before they went bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
just delicious. they're soft, moist, and sweet, but not too sweet. very much like yeast rolls. the first time i made them, i doubled the recipe (a butternut squash tends to yield much more than a cup when cooked and mashed) and had two friends spending the night. 2/3 of them were magically gone by the time i woke up the next morning. if you want to save time, frozen winter squash works well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Unbelievably delicious! Easy and so few ingredients. I also made them, substituting pumpkin for the butternut squash. Delicious, as well. My son requests them for his school lunches. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I've been searching for a good breadrolls...I finally found one.I made this yesterday with my children,it was a huge success...very soft and moist,my children loved it! It stays soft even when it is cold.Definetly will make more...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States