Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
OMG. This was soooo good. Very flavorful. I used olive oil instead of butter and vegetable stock instead of chicken. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used medium grain rice instead of Arborio. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
One of the top 5 things I've ever made. Orgasmic! It is definitely a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Amazing recipe! I loved the squash in the risotto. I did make a few changes based on other reviews. First, I cut the squash, seasoned with salt and pepper, and baked it for 45 minutes. I also used 4 cups of stock instead of 5. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a good basic recipe...I used low sodium (150 g or less) vegetable broth. I used more white wine in lieu of broth. I also added some chopped mushrooms (they were a mix of the more exotic ones, probably 3/4 Cup). I added 3-4 large fresh sage leaves (chopped) toward the end. I added ginger, cardamom, nutmeg cinnamon, coriander and curry to taste. I just keep sampling and watching until....and while I did not roast the squash, I agree that it could make the flavor more robust! And I would consider adding some roasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is so good. The texture of the risotto and the squash together is so delicious. This is defintiely a comfort food dish. I am making a big batch of this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
A wonderful sidedish! I'd never made risotto before and always wanted to. Directions and timing were Right On! The only thing I did differently was that I substituted baked hubbard squash for the butternut because it was what I had on hand. When I mashed it I left a few lumps in it. What a wonderful dish. My husband, a certified vegetable hater, loved it. Definitely FIVE stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is quite simply wonderful... and it's healthy. So often I find the top rated dishes loaded with fats and sugar - anyone can make those kinds of recipes taste great. This is creamy, stick to your ribs, fall goodness, with very little added fat. Prepare to be flexible with your stock. I needed an extra cup. You can tweak away and use this as a kind of starter. I can also envision a sweet version using apple juice instead of stock and loads of autumn spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it this weekend. My husband loved it. Per many of the reviewers, I cut the stock to 4cups, upped the squash mash to 3cups and used 1-1/2cup rice. Came out perfect. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious. I used 4 cups of chicken broth and a little extra butternut squash. I roasted the butternut squash by cutting it in half, spooning out the seeds then baking it at 400 for about 25 minutes. Then you can just scoop and smash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States