Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I added some diced cooked chicken and some sliced baby bella mushrooms, and I think without them, this would have been kind of bland. All in all, not bad, but not the best risotto I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving, and my family loved it. The flavor and texture is perfect. I'll make this again for sure. The butternut squash was much easier to work with than I expected. I switched out the chicken stock with vegetarian chicken stock, and that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
It was great and generous portions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The only thing I changed was using less chicken stock, so that it wouldn't be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nadeausc
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I was worried about how this would turn out since I've not had a lot of experience with eating or cooking risotto. I was happy with this meal, and I was impressed with how each of the flavors complemented each other once the heat died down. This was simple and also gave me more confidence to look at preparing other kinds of risotto dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent!! I made it exactly as written and it was fantastic. My 15 yr old even ate it and she is extremely picky although she thought the orange color came from cheese and I didn't correct her. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The squash adds great flavour, I used cooking sherry because I di have white wine used a little bit less because it's salty and didn't have chicken stock so I used water with chicken bouillon cubes,1 1/2, it's the best risotto I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I roasted the squash first and used all of it ( almost 3 cups puréed) I follow the rest of the instructions exactly and this is going to be a regular dish for us. It is yummy and will be the main course tonight along with a simple salad, a nice white wine and a chunk of homemade bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent risotto. I roasted the squash and pureed it. I used 4 cups of chicken broth, 1/3 cup wine. I sautéed a bit of garlic in onion. I added fresh chopped sage. I put half the squash puree in with the first 1/2 cup of broth. Then I remembered what a couple of reviewers suggested, leaving it to the end. So once all the broth was added to rice, I mixed the end of squash and a big handful of parmesan. Let that cook a bit further. My husband does not usually like risotto loved this one because it was so creamy. Puree the squash for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States