Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was my first try at a squash risotto after having become a risotto cook with the mushroom-gorgonzola variety. Using tips I saw from other recipes I opted for putting in only half the squash with the first 3rd of the stock, and added the rest when the recipe was near completion. That helped me control the consistency. I made a 1-1/2 recipe, and I ended up with a lot of leftover stock. I also roasted my squash rather than steamed it. It seemed to me an easier way to prepare the squash since you don't have to peel and chop or own a steamer basket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Easy to make and delicious! I did find that it took longer than the times given and that was cooking on a gas hob. A definite hit with the family and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
very good! took longer than said. I didn't have chk stock so i used chk bullion. has a very cheesy taste that makes me think of broccoli and cheese. i made double and am going to try freezing some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is a really nice fall dish, took a little while to cook though. I didn't peel the squash before I steamed it - it peels more easily afterwards. Also, I used a veggie broth to make it vegetarian. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I only needed 4 cups of vegetable broth instead of 5 for 1 cup of arborio rice. I substituted white grape juice for the white wine, and added some fresh sage. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I LOVED this. My husband doesn't like squash, but he was able to eat this-- I'd consider that a success. I used 1 cup mashed squash. Next time, I'll go heavier on the onion and lighter on the parmesan. In addition, like other reviewers, I used only 3 cups of broth (as recommended on my bag of rice). This was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was a huge hit at my house!! I used less stock/broth and the cook time was longer than stated but this would sell out in any restaurant in a heartbeat. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I found this bland. It was just squash with rice in it, for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I agee with other posters, this recipe has too much stock, and needs a little tweaking depending on your tastes. I added garlic, and McCormick's "Parmesan and Herb" seasoning. Next time I think I'll try a romano/parmesan cheese blend or even asiago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Quite yummy! My husband was skeptical, but he gave it "thumbs up" after tasting it! Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States