Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this exactly as directed, except used red wine instead of white because that's all I had. It didn't make a difference, I don't think. The recipe came out perfectly. I used all the stock called for - I think you need to if you want real risotto and not just cooked rice. It does take a while for it all to be absorbed, but the results are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe was fabulous! It definitely takes longer than 45 minutes, and I only used about 3.5 cups of stock, but if you have patience and let it cook longer than you normally might cook risotto, it will pay off! Changes I might make for next time (though it really is great the way it is!): Use parmiggiano-reggiano cheese (the nutty flavor gives it the edge over regular parmesan, but it is expensive, so a substitute could be American grana), and toast some sliced or slivered almonds and stir in or sprinkle on top. Oh, and I might use vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. I served this with steamed broccoli on the side, which was a great accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Excellent! Our first time making risotto. I am adding risotto to our monthly menu plan. We cubed the butternut squash and sauté it in a little olive oil and butter. Added it to the rice when adding the chicken stock. This was easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I was a little worried that the rice wouldn't absorb everything, but it was just fine. Lots of flavor; I didn't add any salt or pepper at the end. It was already perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Superb. Thank you for sharing. Featured in allrecipes magazine and I am so happy it was or I wouldn't have considered a squash risotto. Used 4 cups chicken broth and roasted the squash. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The taste is great, however the look leaves something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was delicious. I baked the squash and scooped out the flesh. For left overs the next lunch I added cooked chicken to the risotto for added protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just like others said this wasn't very tasty. I put all the extras in to add flavor but it just wasn't there. I love butternut squash and there are plenty of others recipes for it that are great right on this site. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I was liberal with the stock and it helped keep the risotto from becoming too dry. In also added mushrooms which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States