Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was so darn yummy! my husband told me it was better than the risotto from a restaurant we went to last week. Definitely reduce the chicken stock down to 3.5 cups and peel the squash before you steam or bake it, what a mess that was. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Ssooo creamy and ssoooo delicious. Adding the squash in early helps make it so flavourful. A couple of things that I did different... I never use wine for risotto I use veg stock instead of chicken. I add toasted pine nuts I put in spinach at the end I put in more parmesan then it asks for I'll be making this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Wow - this is tasty! Added a bit of fresh rosemary and thyme to add a bit more flavor. Served it with some diced squash mixed in for added texture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I used veggie broth and upped the fresh parm to 1/2c. I am disappointed I cannot taste the wine more in the finished product. I might make this again but use at least 2/3 c. wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
OMG. This was soooo good. Very flavorful. I used olive oil instead of butter and vegetable stock instead of chicken. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I used medium grain rice instead of Arborio. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
One of the top 5 things I've ever made. Orgasmic! It is definitely a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Amazing recipe! I loved the squash in the risotto. I did make a few changes based on other reviews. First, I cut the squash, seasoned with salt and pepper, and baked it for 45 minutes. I also used 4 cups of stock instead of 5. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is a good basic recipe...I used low sodium (150 g or less) vegetable broth. I used more white wine in lieu of broth. I also added some chopped mushrooms (they were a mix of the more exotic ones, probably 3/4 Cup). I added 3-4 large fresh sage leaves (chopped) toward the end. I added ginger, cardamom, nutmeg cinnamon, coriander and curry to taste. I just keep sampling and watching until....and while I did not roast the squash, I agree that it could make the flavor more robust! And I would consider adding some roasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is so good. The texture of the risotto and the squash together is so delicious. This is defintiely a comfort food dish. I am making a big batch of this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States