Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We loved this! I added a little garlic when I added the onion. I didn't add the squash until the last addition of broth, of which I only used 3 cups. A little thyme added great flavor, it marries so well with butternut squash. I usually shy away from risotto because of the amount of butter and time it requires, but this recipe alleviated both problems. Can't wait to make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was just what I was hoping for, fantastic! I used fresh chopped butternut squash and steamed it in my electric steamer for 12 minutes. I did reduce the chicken stock to only 3 1/2 cups instead of the five. Made it very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
If I could give this 10 stars, I would. OMG this was amazing. I didn't change a thing - the recipe is perfect as is. My husband thought perhaps a little bit of cayenne (we both like heat) would be a good addition, but I disagree. I think that would take away from the butternut flavor. You won't be disappointed in this dish - it's WONDERFUL WONDERFUL WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Be prepared for a very rich dish.. this was good but be careful not to pair this dish with anything else too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was pretty good. Next time I'll add more onion and maybe some mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Flavor was good, but the consistency wasn't what I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Cooked this recipe and it was my first time cooking risotto. We decided to add some chicken to make it a main meal and it was perfect! I cooked it as the recipe says but think I will add less chicken stock next time and maybe some basil or parsley. But I will loved it as is advertised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Tried this recipe tonight and was amazing :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was my first time making risotto and it tasted delicious! I didn't have arborio rice, but I threw in the rice that I did have in the house: half a cup of white rice and half a cup of quick-cooking brown rice, and it turned out fine. I didn't end up using all of the stock, but the risotto was still creamy. I also omitted the parmesan. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I made this the for the first time a few months ago and it has since become a favorite side dish on our table. It really is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States