Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Excellent!! I made it exactly as written and it was fantastic. My 15 yr old even ate it and she is extremely picky although she thought the orange color came from cheese and I didn't correct her. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This recipe is amazing! The squash adds great flavour, I used cooking sherry because I di have white wine used a little bit less because it's salty and didn't have chicken stock so I used water with chicken bouillon cubes,1 1/2, it's the best risotto I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I roasted the squash first and used all of it ( almost 3 cups puréed) I follow the rest of the instructions exactly and this is going to be a regular dish for us. It is yummy and will be the main course tonight along with a simple salad, a nice white wine and a chunk of homemade bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Excellent risotto. I roasted the squash and pureed it. I used 4 cups of chicken broth, 1/3 cup wine. I sautéed a bit of garlic in onion. I added fresh chopped sage. I put half the squash puree in with the first 1/2 cup of broth. Then I remembered what a couple of reviewers suggested, leaving it to the end. So once all the broth was added to rice, I mixed the end of squash and a big handful of parmesan. Let that cook a bit further. My husband does not usually like risotto loved this one because it was so creamy. Puree the squash for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
First time making risotto, and I liked this. I followed some of the suggestions of reviewers and started with 3 cups of broth. As I went along, I only added a bit more to get the consistency I wanted. I also cooked it about 10 min longer than the recipe indicates because it didn't seem soft enough (the bag my risotto came in said to cook 30 min). At the seasoning stage, I also added a few pinches of cinnamon, sage and nutmeg. I put in a garlic cube with the onions, but I'd just like a little more flavoring ...possibly more garlic, basil, mushrooms, more cheese? Thanks Andrea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I though this recipe was relatively simple! With not to many ingredients which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Nylund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed it almost exactly, except I used about 3 cups of broth instead of 5, after reading some of the reviews. I didn't add any salt at all and didn't think it was needed. The broth plus the cheese gave it plenty of salt! It is somewhat sweet due to the squash, but that was fine with me. It was really good! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was a tasty yet different way to prepare butternut squash. It was a simple recipe which I liked but I think next time I would add some more seasonings like sage or thyme? If you want a vegan version, use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock, olive oil instead of butter, and nutritional yeast instead of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAGUAG
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Unlike other reviews I found I used almost the full 5c of stock. I found it a bit plain. Next time I will use garlic and add freshly chopped basil or parsley at serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I loved it :) Some changes I made were: roast the squash for more flavour I replaced the wine some Sleeman Honey Lager and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungrymartialartist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States