Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
So easy and delicious. Everyone including my 2 year old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
In a word, YUM! I was searching for something different to do with butternut squash and found this recipe. I had to adapt a bit due to ingredients on hand (no wine, and only had long grain brown rice). I decreased the chicken broth to 3+ cups, and cooked the squash in another 1/2 cup of the broth. I also had to stir/cook a bit longer since brown rice does't seem to absorb as well as Arborio. Otherwise followed the recipe. A big hit with me and my husband. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It took forever to have the rice absorb all this broth and it mainly tastes chicken broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Bake squash (cut in half and seeded, squash side down) at 375 for 40-45 minutes. Scoop out squash, and then make puree in blender. I usually like to use the whole squash at the same time so I increase the servings so that it reads 4 cups cubed squash (about 3 cups puree squash). I also make some garlic shrimp with oregano and throw that into the butternut squash risotto!! SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Great and easy to make! My kids enjoy it also, it almost tastes like a mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I found this Recipe to be very tasty, but I had to alter the Recipe considerably. I added the Chicken Stock one cup at a time and on a Medium to High Temperature. I also only used a total of 3 cups of Chicken Stock. I also really chopped my Fresh Butternut Squash really small, I also added a Fresh Garlic, with the Fresh Sauting Onions and Risotto, and some canned mushrooms. Also, I sprinkled in some dried Oregano, Parsley, and Basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was delicious and we added sliced chicken to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana Renfro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I decided to try this recipe since it was different than the butternut squash risotto I've made before, with sugar and spices in it. I had to add the brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice. This is very bland as-is, and definitely was missing something. I agree with another reviewer that the squash should be added last (another thing that probably made it bland...cooked all the natural sweetness out). Won't make this as written again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I add finely chopped button mushrooms to the onion sauté, which adds to the richness of the flavor. I also top the risotto with fresh basil, parmesan cheese, and crumbled fried prosciutto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustatorian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I've made this a couple of times. It's so flavorful. And best of all, my children actually love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States