Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
A wonderful sidedish! I'd never made risotto before and always wanted to. Directions and timing were Right On! The only thing I did differently was that I substituted baked hubbard squash for the butternut because it was what I had on hand. When I mashed it I left a few lumps in it. What a wonderful dish. My husband, a certified vegetable hater, loved it. Definitely FIVE stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is quite simply wonderful... and it's healthy. So often I find the top rated dishes loaded with fats and sugar - anyone can make those kinds of recipes taste great. This is creamy, stick to your ribs, fall goodness, with very little added fat. Prepare to be flexible with your stock. I needed an extra cup. You can tweak away and use this as a kind of starter. I can also envision a sweet version using apple juice instead of stock and loads of autumn spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it this weekend. My husband loved it. Per many of the reviewers, I cut the stock to 4cups, upped the squash mash to 3cups and used 1-1/2cup rice. Came out perfect. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious. I used 4 cups of chicken broth and a little extra butternut squash. I roasted the butternut squash by cutting it in half, spooning out the seeds then baking it at 400 for about 25 minutes. Then you can just scoop and smash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I think it's great, esp. with extra Parmesan and spinach, but Murphy doesn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Risa Shire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Definite Keeper!!! Both times I have made it, It took longer than the recipe suggests. Even worked well with red wine as we were out of white the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I added some asiago cheese to this and it was so harty and yummy. I will be making this again. K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I roasted my squash but probably should have roasted it a little bit longer. I didn't mash it up very much so there were chunks of squash in the risotto, which I like. I took the advice of others and didn't use as much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Amazing!!!! I used about 2x as much butternut squash and just about a half a cup more of the rice. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Had never made a squash risotto, and also live in Minnesota, like another reviewer...no wine on Sunday. ANYWAY, I had roasted squash on hand, so cubed it. Used vegetable broth and had shallots, so used that. Followed the recipe, but kept tasting it for doneness, didn't need all the broth. Threw in the cubed squash about 3/4ths of the way through. Then started adding sage (hand rubbed) because it IS bland. At the very end, I added a lot of grated Parmesan. Served with grilled chicken thighs marinated in soy and olive oil. Pretty good meal for a single lady. Then for the leftovers, I chopped up the thighs and added it right to the risotto. Pretty good lunch and the next meal, and the next meal and.....(it made a lot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States