Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Definite Keeper!!! Both times I have made it, It took longer than the recipe suggests. Even worked well with red wine as we were out of white the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I added some asiago cheese to this and it was so harty and yummy. I will be making this again. K
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I roasted my squash but probably should have roasted it a little bit longer. I didn't mash it up very much so there were chunks of squash in the risotto, which I like. I took the advice of others and didn't use as much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Amazing!!!! I used about 2x as much butternut squash and just about a half a cup more of the rice. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Had never made a squash risotto, and also live in Minnesota, like another reviewer...no wine on Sunday. ANYWAY, I had roasted squash on hand, so cubed it. Used vegetable broth and had shallots, so used that. Followed the recipe, but kept tasting it for doneness, didn't need all the broth. Threw in the cubed squash about 3/4ths of the way through. Then started adding sage (hand rubbed) because it IS bland. At the very end, I added a lot of grated Parmesan. Served with grilled chicken thighs marinated in soy and olive oil. Pretty good meal for a single lady. Then for the leftovers, I chopped up the thighs and added it right to the risotto. Pretty good lunch and the next meal, and the next meal and.....(it made a lot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
For those of you questioning the amount of stock, risotto recipes typically ask you to warm up more stock than is needed since you don't know the exact amount that it will take to get your risotto done. I always have stock left over and typically just let it cool then freeze the rest. As for those commenting that it doesn't make a great main dish, it isn't meant to. It is a starchy side dish, most don't make a meal out of mashed potatoes either, no matter how much they love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
It was really good. I also changed the stock to 3 cups and baked the squash in the oven. I did add mushrooms and peppers with the onion, and also added some chicken for more of a meal. Since I did add more to the rice, I would of added 1/2 cup more of stock. I used 2 cups of mashed squash, and really would of wanted to use double for more sweet flavor. I still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
It was my first time making risotto and this recipe was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Used long grain rice and worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Firstly, this recipe IS tasty - I added quite a bit of pepper and almost half a cup of cheese, not the 1/4 called for. But I gave it three stars because the proportions are off for sure. I ended up adding about 1/4 cup MORE rice to soak up all that stock and this recipe is HUGE - I'm giving some away because even with leftovers, there's only 3 of us in my household and there's no way we can finish it off. Also, it does not take 35 minutes to cook. Took me closer to an hour!!!! This is not a quick weeknight meal addition. Give yourself some time for this one. The taste is good but realistically is subjective to how much cheese/salt/pepper and what kind of squash (freshly roasted/store bought chunks/frozen) you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylieL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States