Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this exactly as directed, except used red wine instead of white because that's all I had. It didn't make a difference, I don't think. The recipe came out perfectly. I used all the stock called for - I think you need to if you want real risotto and not just cooked rice. It does take a while for it all to be absorbed, but the results are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe was fabulous! It definitely takes longer than 45 minutes, and I only used about 3.5 cups of stock, but if you have patience and let it cook longer than you normally might cook risotto, it will pay off! Changes I might make for next time (though it really is great the way it is!): Use parmiggiano-reggiano cheese (the nutty flavor gives it the edge over regular parmesan, but it is expensive, so a substitute could be American grana), and toast some sliced or slivered almonds and stir in or sprinkle on top. Oh, and I might use vegetable stock instead of chicken broth. I served this with steamed broccoli on the side, which was a great accompaniment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Excellent! Our first time making risotto. I am adding risotto to our monthly menu plan. We cubed the butternut squash and sauté it in a little olive oil and butter. Added it to the rice when adding the chicken stock. This was easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I was a little worried that the rice wouldn't absorb everything, but it was just fine. Lots of flavor; I didn't add any salt or pepper at the end. It was already perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Superb. Thank you for sharing. Featured in allrecipes magazine and I am so happy it was or I wouldn't have considered a squash risotto. Used 4 cups chicken broth and roasted the squash. No changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Lyter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The taste is great, however the look leaves something to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was delicious. I baked the squash and scooped out the flesh. For left overs the next lunch I added cooked chicken to the risotto for added protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Just like others said this wasn't very tasty. I put all the extras in to add flavor but it just wasn't there. I love butternut squash and there are plenty of others recipes for it that are great right on this site. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I was liberal with the stock and it helped keep the risotto from becoming too dry. In also added mushrooms which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States