Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
First time making risotto, and I liked this. I followed some of the suggestions of reviewers and started with 3 cups of broth. As I went along, I only added a bit more to get the consistency I wanted. I also cooked it about 10 min longer than the recipe indicates because it didn't seem soft enough (the bag my risotto came in said to cook 30 min). At the seasoning stage, I also added a few pinches of cinnamon, sage and nutmeg. I put in a garlic cube with the onions, but I'd just like a little more flavoring ...possibly more garlic, basil, mushrooms, more cheese? Thanks Andrea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I though this recipe was relatively simple! With not to many ingredients which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Nylund

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe. I followed it almost exactly, except I used about 3 cups of broth instead of 5, after reading some of the reviews. I didn't add any salt at all and didn't think it was needed. The broth plus the cheese gave it plenty of salt! It is somewhat sweet due to the squash, but that was fine with me. It was really good! I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This was a tasty yet different way to prepare butternut squash. It was a simple recipe which I liked but I think next time I would add some more seasonings like sage or thyme? If you want a vegan version, use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock, olive oil instead of butter, and nutritional yeast instead of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAGUAG
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Unlike other reviews I found I used almost the full 5c of stock. I found it a bit plain. Next time I will use garlic and add freshly chopped basil or parsley at serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I loved it :) Some changes I made were: roast the squash for more flavour I replaced the wine some Sleeman Honey Lager and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
My husband said this was EXCELLENT! He is an accomplished cook as well, I was amazed. This is very, very good. The amount of Stock (5) cups, is if you prefer a wet, loose risotto like the picture. Others said the broth is too much, this is true if you prefer a thick, "keep it's shape" risotto. We prefer the consistency of thickness so risotto will stand alone in a mound. I used only 3 cups of the broth to achieve this. I used shallots to equal about 1/2 of a yellow onion. I added about a 1/4 teaspoon of fresh chopped Rosemary at the stage of the last broth addition. I added a 1/3 cup grated Lionza, a local hard cheese much like parmesan, more pungent, at the cheese stage. Salt and pepper to taste. Awesome! Welcome to the restaurant in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was nice! Different than your average risotto, but still straightforward to make. The large amount of liquid that the recipe tells you to incorporate really draws out the cooking, but the overall product was still worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dlisadoesit
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is one of our faves! I peeled and cube the squash then microwave it in a shallow dish with enough water to cover the bottom for 8 minutes- it way way easier to mash and faster too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlisadoesit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delicious! Easy to make! Did exactly what recipe stated to do. This is not a recipe to walk away from. From start to finish, you are there stirring or adding more ingredients. I used frozen cubed butternut squash and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States