Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I baked my squash the day before then mashed when I was ready to add it to the risotto. This made my cooking time 20 minutes. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O'Neill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Amazing! I used a chardonnay with a slight oak finish for the white wine. I also added 1/2 lb of extra firm tofu to make it a main dish and 1/2 carton sliced mushrooms. I cut the tofu in 1/2" cubes and sauteed with onions and mushrooms in butter at the beginning. At the very end I added some ripped spinach to add some green and variety. Next time I am going to try Pacific Mushroom broth and keep it vegetarian. It is a piece worth showing off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent. Requires constant attention (as most risottos do), but worth it (as most risottos are). I used my electric steamer to steam the squash and it took about 20 minutes. I didn't completely mash the squash, choosing to leave some chunks. No changes are required. This is just a wonderful, creamy, comforting dish for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Deeeelicous!!!!!!!! Roasted the butternut squash beforehand and just peeled off the skin. Only needed 4 cups of stock and added fresh parsley at the end. Holy cow, I've made different varieties of risotto before but this has been the best tasting by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This recipe was ok as is. I made a few changes but would do things differently again next time. I didn't have butternut squash so I used acorn squash (fresh from my aunts garden). I cut it in half roasted it skin side down in the oven like another reviewer suggested but found the skin became too soft to scoop out. Instead I flipped it skin side up and used a sharp knife to peel off the skin and then I mashed it. I wanted lots of flavour so into the squash I mixed 1tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1tsp allspice and 1tsp ground clove.. Next time I won't use ground cloves at all because it left a strange after taste and I will cut the allspice in half. I didn't use onion as I am allergic but I used 1tsp of garlic instead and that was fine. Lastly I used only 3 cups of chicken stock as suggested by another reviewer and that was perfect. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boombatine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was great. Ended up using 4 cups broth. I didnt add squash until the end. I just kept adding broth a little at a time and stirring until absorbed. That's the way i have always made risotto. I also heat the broth before adding so that it doesnt cool off the rice. I'll be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I'm not a squash fan, but this was amazing! We didn't need all the stock - and actually, as I was a bit short on it, I doubled the wine. I also roasted the squash; overall it got rave reviews, and was just a perfect, delicate sidedish to try. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evora
Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I'm editing my original review (below, 4 stars) after having had some leftovers from the other night. It IS really good, and not at all like "post-hole cement" like someone teased me. 5 stars. I thought it was really good. I brought it to a cooking group get together. Everyone said it was great. But I ended up with a LOT left over. So I question how good it really was. I doubled the recipe and it made a tremendous amount. It was very good. It just bothers me that there was so much leftover. So for that reason I gave it only 4 stars. Which is probably unfair. Relatively healthy too - given the amount of butter and cheese used in ratio to the yield.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I just finished burning the roof of my mouth with this FABULOUS creation!!! I roasted my squash in the oven like others did. Otherwise I followed recipe exactly. I did stop adding stock when I had used about 3 1/2 cups. I added salt and pepper before the cheese and thought it was still a tiny bit bland, but after adding freshly grated parm...it is OUTSTANDING!!! I love this recipe and will make it again. *note* those that are using broth should expect their finished product to be salty, stock is not nearly as salty as broth and is much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States