Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
People seem to be having problems peeling butternut. As someone who has cooked more than his fair share for twin infants over the past several months, I finally found the solution. As others have said, cut in half, lengthwise, scoop out seeds and roast for 30-40 minutes until tender. Then let cool and simply peel the skin using a paring knife. Easy breezy. MUCH easier than trying to scoop. Oh yeah, I made absolutely zero changes to this recipe and it is stunning! I will make this again as well as try new varieties (can't wait to try Beet which is likely amazing, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was AMAZING! My mom couldn't believe there was no heavy cream in it. The only thing I did differently was roast the squash instead of steaming it, it provided a richer squash flavor. Definitely adding this to my recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious!!!! I did double the rice and added 2 extra cups of stock, and I only had some Egyptian Roomy cheese (its almost exactly like Parmesan just saltier and stronger in flavor) and it gave it an awesome kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I came home tonight with a butternut squash in hand, knowing I wanted to do something with it, but not sure what. This recipe did the trick, although I made some slight changes to it - I used about 3 cups of steamed squash, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, substituted shallots for the onions, sake for the wine, and fish stock for the chicken. I used the suggested amount of broth and although it took an additional fifteen or so minutes at the end to simmer away the extra liquid, the wait was well worth it. However, if I make this again with my changes I think I will add some bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really great! Didn't do anything different. It takes awhile to make, so be prepared! I put garlic butter shrimp on top & it just made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Good recipe! Easy for my first risotto ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
After being blessed with a full case of butternut squash, my students and I looked for ways to use it up. This was far and away the best use we found for it. It made squash lovers out of several of my students!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
So delicious!!!! I only used 3 1/2 - 4 cups of the broth but it turned out perfectly and was so yummy. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sexykatmeow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delicious! Even family members that "don't like veggies" liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was sooooo surprisingly delicious. We've been trying to eat more local, seasonal foods lately, and this is the perfect recipe for autumn or winter, when squash is one of the only things available. We are not squash fans, though, so I was nervous that this wouldn't be something we'd like. But everyone did! The Parmesan cheese seems to really mellow out the "squashy" flavor. We called it "cheesy rice" and the two-year-old gobbled it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States