Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good. I am not a lover of risotto though. I did like it but it will be a while til I make it again. It is probably awesome if you love risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I adapted this recipe a bit, by adding thyme and paprika, and using brown jasmine rice. So it wasn't entirely a risotto, but it was quite delicious! I definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Very good! My wife was raving after I made it for us for dinner tonight. If I would change anything, it would be to eliminate the parmesan. It didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Excellent! I had already roasted some butternut squash, so I reheated it in the microwave and mashed it, leaving some chunks. I added about 1/2 tsp of rubbed sage with the first batch of chicken stock. My only recommendation is to use a low-sodium or homemade stock, as the regular prepackaged stock will make it pretty salty once cooked down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! I used only 4 cups of broth and it was enough. I also added a handful of sliced prosciutto. Both me and my 17-year-old really enjoyed it. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Wow, this is so worth the time it takes to make! I was going to an autumn dinner party for several friends, and I doubled this recipe. To make it even more autumn-like, I 1) mashed the butternut squash, but left some very small chunks on purpose. Then, 2) when I added onion, I also sliced some leeks very thinly - just because I like them. Finally, at the end, I 3)threw in about 2 cups of thinly shredded baby spinach. It was gorgeous and BIG hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpsrabbit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I baked my squash the day before then mashed when I was ready to add it to the risotto. This made my cooking time 20 minutes. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa O'Neill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Amazing! I used a chardonnay with a slight oak finish for the white wine. I also added 1/2 lb of extra firm tofu to make it a main dish and 1/2 carton sliced mushrooms. I cut the tofu in 1/2" cubes and sauteed with onions and mushrooms in butter at the beginning. At the very end I added some ripped spinach to add some green and variety. Next time I am going to try Pacific Mushroom broth and keep it vegetarian. It is a piece worth showing off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Excellent. Requires constant attention (as most risottos do), but worth it (as most risottos are). I used my electric steamer to steam the squash and it took about 20 minutes. I didn't completely mash the squash, choosing to leave some chunks. No changes are required. This is just a wonderful, creamy, comforting dish for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States