Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Yummy, just made this for dinner tonight. Followed the recipe with the exception that I roasted the butternut squash for 20mins at 425 degrees. SP & olive oil before roasting. What a wonderful flavor. Will do this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very good!! I didn't have white wine (or any wine) so I skipped that step and I forgot to mash the squash but it wasn't a big deal it cooked so well that it pretty much mashed itself. Really great and quick dinner. I bet this would be good with other kinds of squash too or sweet potatoes. The second time I made it I added some thyme, marjoram and 2 bay leaves to the sauteed onion and that made it even better!! I also used acorn squash, carrots and sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was not to my liking! I had only few bites, what a waste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was amazing! I can't wait for fall weather to hit so I can make it again. Everyone really enjoyed this one. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ArmyWife4Life
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was one of the most successful risotto dishes I've ever made! Plus, my husband (who does NOT like butternut squash) and toddler ate it up! Definitely going on the permanent family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
People seem to be having problems peeling butternut. As someone who has cooked more than his fair share for twin infants over the past several months, I finally found the solution. As others have said, cut in half, lengthwise, scoop out seeds and roast for 30-40 minutes until tender. Then let cool and simply peel the skin using a paring knife. Easy breezy. MUCH easier than trying to scoop. Oh yeah, I made absolutely zero changes to this recipe and it is stunning! I will make this again as well as try new varieties (can't wait to try Beet which is likely amazing, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was AMAZING! My mom couldn't believe there was no heavy cream in it. The only thing I did differently was roast the squash instead of steaming it, it provided a richer squash flavor. Definitely adding this to my recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Delicious!!!! I did double the rice and added 2 extra cups of stock, and I only had some Egyptian Roomy cheese (its almost exactly like Parmesan just saltier and stronger in flavor) and it gave it an awesome kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I came home tonight with a butternut squash in hand, knowing I wanted to do something with it, but not sure what. This recipe did the trick, although I made some slight changes to it - I used about 3 cups of steamed squash, 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, substituted shallots for the onions, sake for the wine, and fish stock for the chicken. I used the suggested amount of broth and although it took an additional fifteen or so minutes at the end to simmer away the extra liquid, the wait was well worth it. However, if I make this again with my changes I think I will add some bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Really great! Didn't do anything different. It takes awhile to make, so be prepared! I put garlic butter shrimp on top & it just made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States