Butternut Squash Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Good recipe, but I would recommend changing the proportions slightly. I used four cups of butternut squash, and only 3 cups of stock. This way, you can put the stock in 1 cup at a time. or 1 cup, 1/2, etc. I also added some diced mushrooms which worked fabulously with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great as a side dish but as a main course maybe add sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acali07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe is good, though I did not need to double it as it made a LOT. I also changed it up quite a bit. Roasted the squash in the oven as other reviewers had recommended. Sauteed the onions with mushrooms and garlic for more flavor. Am not sure why so much chicken stock is needed. My doubled recipe used only about 6 cups. It also took waaay longer to cook than stated, so I gave up on the recipe time and just cooked it until the rice was done. Since many reviewers had commented that it was bland, I also added a homemade feta cheese dressing from another salad, mixing it in at the end to taste. It gave it a creamier flavor. Lastly, added Beecher's flagship cheese as the topping. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was wonderful! It was creamy and flavorful. I cut the squash in half and cooked it cut-side down under some plastic wrap in the microwave for 12 minutes and then scooped it out with an ice cream scoop. It does seem like a lot of liquid going in, but that's how it is with risotto. I just kept stirring and adding more stock until it was incorporated. I did use a lid to help the rice soak up the stock a bit quicker but it turned out and I think I will make it again when I have plenty of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was okay. I cooked a total of about 25 minutes and used all the liquid but the end result wasn't very creamy. I added the squash at the end of cooking but when it all came together the flavors weren't really there and it was kind of pasty in the mouth. It wasn't my favorite but enjoyed making it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very nice risotto! I did make a few changes, I'm a vegetarian so I made vegetable stock and used that instead. I also didn't have any arborio rice so I used brown rice and I added some mushrooms as well. The only problem I had is that it took me WAY longer than 35mins for cook time, but that was probably because I used brown rice. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was good but a bit odd tasting at the same time. I doubled the wine and used about half the amount of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbvoyer
Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used smoked gouda and orzo and didn't have wine, and it was a great meal! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is extremely tasty, but really hard to make. It took me wayyy longer to make this dish. It took a long time for the broth to absorb in the rice. After it was complete, it was delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I decided to cook this recipe because I had a butternut squash on hand and I was highly pleased with the outcome. My whole family raved about it. It was very creamy--great recipe that I'll keep and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States